Fulbright and International Affairs Officials Visit NCKU-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

Fulbright and International Affairs Officials Visit NCKU

SDG17

Fulbright and International Affairs Officials Visit NCKU

Synergy Correlation

Written by Amber Tyan. Image credit to News Center.

On March 15th, the Foundation for Scholarly Exchange, Fulbright Taiwan, led international affairs officers and senior staff members from 25 universities and colleges across the United States to visit National Cheng Kung University (NCKU). Both parties joined hands to hold a cooperative discussion, emphasizing fields such as smart semiconductors, future computing, literature and history, Mandarin, creative industrial design, engineering, and energy. In addition, NCKU introduced Fulbright Taiwan to the innovative colleges and programs of NCKU, while visiting the Chinese Language Center (CLC) and the historical campus. NCKU shall join hands with Fulbright Taiwan to actively cultivate high-level talents, improving their professionalism, language skills, and cultural fluency.

Prof. Charles Lin, Vice President for International Affairs, stated NCKU has established numerous Industry-Academic-Government collaborations and has a deep connection with the United States in particular. For instance, NCKU had already established a connection with Purdue University sixty years ago. Furthermore, in addition to the existing overseas bases in Vietnam, Thailand, and Malaysia, the Auburn University-National Cheng Kung University Taiwan Center of Chinese Language and Culture had been established last year.

Former President Huey-Jen Su, currently the acting dean of the Miin Wu School of Computing, stated that NCKU is closely linked to society and the industry. When the city of Tainan opens up to the world, historical significance will be shown on an engineering scale. Prof. Su said that the Miin Wu School of Computing emphasizes interdisciplinary collaborations, and it also serves as a platform for future generations to gain experience in such practices.
 
Assistant Professor Shao-Man Lee shared his experience of being a lawyer in the United States before coming to NCKU.
 
“Since computing is everywhere, only prestigious universities such as MIT have a School of Computing. However, NCKU is the first to establish a School of Computing in Taiwan. From not understanding code to being able to apply it in related fields, many students have come a long way.”
 
Associate Dean of the Academy of Innovative Semiconductor and Sustainable Manufacturing, Prof. Meng-Hsueh Chiang, introduced the academy and its scholarships to the international affairs officials, hoping to create more opportunities for short-term programs, research, and degree programs with universities in the United States.

Dean of the College of Liberal Arts, Prof. Shin-Mei Kao demonstrated how the NCKU Chinese Language Center (CLC),  is one of the best Mandarin learning bases in Taiwan. In addition to Mandarin courses, there are also cultural classes, language competitions, festival activities, off-campus trips, language exchange, and an introduction to Tainan City. Associate Professor of the History Department, Sheng-Po Chang stated that the collaboration between the College of Liberal Arts and Fulbright would be studying Mandarin at the CLC in their first year, and then spending their second year taking courses (taught in Mandarin) in the Dept. of History, and they welcome students from the United States.
 
According to Chairperson of the Institute of Creative Industries Design (ICID) of the College of Planning and Design, Associate Professor Chia-Han Yang, nearly all the departments of the College of Planning and Design are pioneers in Taiwan. Over the years, there have been 4 Fulbright awardees (including one that recently enrolled) that studied at ICID and have been participating in local projects such as teaching English, educational innovation competitions, and overseas Filipino workers workshops in their spare time. In the future, ICID will continue to push forward with their four core strategies: education, research, industrial, and internationalization, and seeks to collaborate with people from different fields.
 
Vice Dean of the College of Engineering, Prof. Yu-Lung Lo, who graduated from an American university, pointed out that the relationship between Taiwan and the United States is very close, as many professors and PhD students have returned from studying in the United States. In the past, when studying abroad was not a popular choice, the College of Engineering was seen as the most historical college in NCKU, and a great number of alumni are now founders or owners of large companies.

NCKU and Fulbright have consolidated talent exchanges of Taiwan-U.S. through a number of projects, such as launching the Fulbright scholarship program for Master of Arts (Dept. of History), Master of Arts in Design (ICID), and Master of Science (International Degree on Energy Engineering) to encourage students from the United States to pursue a master’s degree in Taiwan. Courses in ICID and energy engineering will be taught in English, while the Dept. of History provides one year of Mandarin classes before studying for their master’s degree. In addition, both parties signed a CSAT (Consortium for Study Abroad in Taiwan) MoU in 2021, in which Fulbright would recommend students from the United States to participate in scholar exchange programs, short-term programs, or Mandarin classes in NCKU, experiencing the education and culture in person with local students.
 
The International Educational Administrator Program of the Fulbright Program aims to facilitate the future development of bilateral cooperation opportunities in the higher education of Taiwan-U.S and promote both long and short-term scholar exchanges for students from the United States, in addition to studying for their master’s degree (and above).

 

On March 15th, the Foundation for Scholarly Exchange, Fulbright Taiwan, led international affairs officers and senior staff members from 25 universities and colleges across the United States to visit National Cheng Kung University (NCKU).

Prof. Charles Lin, Vice President for International Affairs, stated NCKU has established numerous Industry-Academic-Government collaborations, and has a deep connection with the United States in particular.

Former President Huey-Jen Su, currently the acting dean of the Miin Wu School of Computing, stated that NCKU is closely linked to society and the industry. When the city of Tainan opens up to the world, historical significance will be shown.

Fulbright and international affairs officials delve into innovative courses and programs in NCKU.

Fulbright and international affairs officials visit NCKU CLC and the historical campus.

NCKU Joins RISES at Microsatellite Project with Japan

SDG17NCKU Joins RISES at Microsatellite Project with Japan

View more
NCKU Partners with TU Darmstadt on AI IC Innovations in the Post-Moore Law Era

SDG17NCKU Partners with TU Darmstadt on AI IC Innovations in the Post-Moore Law Era

View more
The Power of Collaboration with Southbound Talents

SDG17The Power of Collaboration with Southbound Talents

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

No.1, University Road, Tainan City 701, Taiwan (R.O.C)

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。

學術交流基金會美國大學國際事務主管暨資深人員團訪問成大-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

學術交流基金會美國大學國際事務主管暨資深人員團訪問成大

SDG17

學術交流基金會美國大學國際事務主管暨資深人員團訪問成大

Synergy Correlation

文/葉佳彬、國際處 圖/陳正明
學術交流基金會(Fulbright Taiwan)率領來自美國各地 25 間大學院校的國際事務主管暨資深人員於 3 月 15 日蒞臨成大,針對智慧半導體、未來運算、文學歷史、華語、創意產業設計、工程、能源等領域進行合作對談,深入瞭解成大之創新特色學院與課程,並參觀成大華語中心與歷史校園,成大與學術交流基金會攜手積極培育臺美高階人才之專業力、語言力、文化力。

成大林建宏國際長指出,NCKU 建立了許多產官學(Industry-Academic-government)的合作創新,與美國尤其有很深的連結,例如一甲子之前即與普渡大學互相交流,而除了原本在越南、泰國、馬來西亞共 3 個實體海外基地,也於去年在阿拉巴馬州奧本大學揭幕奧本-成大臺灣華語文中心。

現為成大敏求智慧運算學院代理院長的蘇慧貞前校長補充說,成大與社會及工業界的聯結非常緊密,當台南這座城市首度向世界開放時,即展示了歷史及工程上的意義。蘇慧貞表示,敏求學院強調各界跨領域的合作,也是下世紀世代可以取得、運用,練習的平台。
 
敏求智慧運算學院李韶曼助理教授分享自己原本在美國當律師,如今來到成大,「因為 Computing 無所不在,在美國學校也只有 MIT 等知名大學有 School of Computing,但 NCKU 是台灣第一個有 Computing 的學院。許多學生從原本不會寫程式等等,畢業後都能在相關領域應用。」成大半導體學院江孟學副院長則介紹半導體學院及獎學金,希望未來能與美國大學在短期課程、研究、學位學程上尋求合作。

成大文學院高實玫院長則介紹,成大華語中心(CLC)是台灣最好的華語學習據點之一,除了提供華語課程學習外,也提供文化課、語言競賽、節慶活動、校外參訪、語言交換及踏溯台南。歷史系張勝柏副教授說明,文學院與 Fulbright 最新合作學程為第一年在華語中心學習華語,第二年進入歷史系就讀(中文授課),非常歡迎美籍生前來。
 
成大規劃與設計學院創意產業設計研究所楊佳翰所長介紹,成大規社院的所有科系幾乎都是第一個在台灣創的系。歷年已有 4 位(包含 1 位去年剛入學)Fulbright 受獎生來創產所就讀,並利用課餘時間參與在地活動或作許多在地企劃(local project)如: 英語教學、教育新創競賽、菲律賓移工工作坊等。未來創產所仍將以教學、研究、工業、國際四大面向的策略前進,期盼與各界合作。
 
畢業於美國大學的成大工學院羅裕龍副院長則指出,感覺美國與台灣的關係很近,因為幾乎教授、博士生很多都從美國念書回來的。在以前不流行出國的時代,工學院可以說是成大最老的,而許多畢業生校友現在多是公司的創辦人或老闆。

成大與學術交流基金會透過多項專案鞏固臺美人才交流,例如自 2014 年起陸續啟動傅爾布萊特獎學金專案計畫合作歷史系碩士、創產所碩士、及能源工程國際碩士等獎學金專案,鼓勵美國大學生來台攻讀碩士學位,創產所碩士及能源工程國際碩士皆為全英語授課,歷史系碩士課程則安排修習一年華語後,第二年再攻讀學位。此外,雙方於 2021 年簽署「臺美高教聯盟(CSAT)交流合作協議」,由學術交流基金會引薦美籍學生到成大進行多元交流與專業學習,美籍學生透過學期交流計畫或參與短期課程營隊,來成大與在地學生一同學習,也可選擇成大華語課程,參與文化體驗及參訪活動。
 
美國國務院傅爾布萊特計畫之「學術交流基金會美國大學國際事務主管暨資深人員獎助計畫(IEA)」旨在促進臺美雙邊高等教育機構之互相了解,並推動美國學生來臺進行長、短期學術交流,或攻讀碩士以上(含)學位學程。

學術交流基金會(Fulbright Taiwan)率領來自美國各地 25 間大學院校的國際事務主管暨資深人員於 3 月 15 日訪問成大

成大林建宏國際長指出,NCKU 建立了許多產官學(Industry-Academic-government)的合作創新,與美國尤其有很深的連結

現為成大敏求智慧運算學院代理院長的蘇慧貞前校長說,成大與社會及工業界的聯結非常緊密,當台南這座城市首度向世界開放時,即展示了歷史及工程上的意義

學術交流基金會美國大學國際事務主管暨資深人員團深入瞭解成大之創新特色學院與課程

學術交流基金會美國大學國際事務主管暨資深人員團參觀成大華語中心與歷史校園

鳳凰新創平台新創獎啟動輔導計畫 串聯校內量能與校友資源

SDG17鳳凰新創平台新創獎啟動輔導計畫 串聯校內量能與校友資源

View more
提升友邦防災知識 成大與國合會共同舉辦防災科技管理專班

SDG17提升友邦防災知識 成大與國合會共同舉辦防災科技管理專班

View more
留學台灣到成大 越南學子為文化交流使力

SDG17留學台灣到成大 越南學子為文化交流使力

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

701 臺南市東區大學路1號 雲平大樓西棟7樓

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。