NASA Approves Latest AMS Experiment Upgrade Program Taiwanese Team is a Key Contributor Behind the Scenes-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

NASA Approves Latest AMS Experiment Upgrade Program Taiwanese Team is a Key Contributor Behind the Scenes

SDG9

NASA Approves Latest AMS Experiment Upgrade Program Taiwanese Team is a Key Contributor Behind the Scenes

Synergy Correlation

The NASA AMS experiment, in which a team from NCKU, Academia Sinica, National Chung-Shan Institute of Science and Technology (NCSIST) and The Aerospace Industrial Development Corporation (AIDC) participated, used the latest research made in the past 11 years to show that the energy distribution of electrons and protons in a complete solar cycle varies significantly with time. "This is the first time that human beings have precisely measured the flux of different electric particles in the cosmic rays during a whole solar cycle. And the results show a trend that cannot be explained by existing theories and provide a key data base for the study of the space environment in the solar system." said Yuan-Hann Chang, a special researcher at the Institute of Physics, Academia Sinica, Taiwan. This unexpected result was published in Physical Review Letters, where it was specifically recommended by the editors and selected for special news publication, demonstrating the importance of the study.

The Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS) detector is an energetic particle detector set up on the International Space Station (Figure 1), whose main mission is to precisely study the properties of cosmic rays and to understand the secrets of the universe's creation. The AMS experiment is a large-scale international collaborative experiment led by Nobel Laureate Samuel C. C. Ting, with the participation of the United States, Germany, France, Italy, China, and Taiwan, among which the Taiwan team includes Academia Sinica, NCKU, Academia Sinica, and AIDC.

Yi Yang, a professor in the Department of Physics at NCKU, explained that in this era of exploding space development, whether in GPS navigation, low orbit communication, etc., all of them are closely related to our daily life, so when designing instruments for space and planning future human exploration in space, we must understand the impact of cosmic radiation on these instruments and our bodies. Among them, one of the most important sources of cosmic radiation is the high-energy particles generated by solar storms.

The latest results from the AMS experiment using the last 11 years (i.e. a full solar cycle) show that the energy divisions of electrons and protons are significantly different over time.In addition to the different trends in the energy increase and decrease of electrons and protons in different years (e.g., in Figure 2, left, the energy of electrons and protons decreases with time in 2011-2014, but the energy of electrons and protons increases with time from 2015, and then decreases linearly again in 2021), there are also significant differences in the short time cycle (e.g., in Figure 2, right, the electrons have significant cycles at day 9, day 13.5 , and day 27, but the protons do not).

To accurately distinguish negatively charged protons from the large number of positively charged protons (the vast majority of cosmic rays), it is necessary to rely on the magnets in the AMS detector as well as the precision track detector. The AMS-02 UTTPS upgrade project, in which Academia Sinica, NCKU, NCSIST and AIDC are participating from 2017 to 2020, is to ensure that the precision track detector can continue to operate until the end of the AMS mission. The UTTPS electronics system developed by Academia Sinica and NCSIST, and the UTTPS heat sink jointly developed and manufactured by NCKU and AIDC, are the key parts of the entire AMS-02 UTTPS program, and the results of the Taiwan team have been highly recognized by Academician Samuel C. C. Ting and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA).

To further understand the properties of cosmic rays, the AMS experiment needs to collect more data before the end of the mission of the International Space Station. So in 2022, Academician Samuel C. C. Ting decided to upgrade the AMS detector again. This upgrade includes the addition of a precision tracker layer (Tracker Layer-0) with an area of more than 2.6 m² at the top of the AMS detector. In addition, after 11 years of operation, the radiator board on the Power Distribution System (PDS) has aged and deteriorated, so it also needs to be repaired to ensure the AMS detector can continue to operate. Therefore, the Taiwan team has once again taken up the responsibility to collaborate with the Academia Sinica and the NCSIST on the circuitry of Tracker Layer-0 and the design and production of the electronics system, as well as with the team from NCKU and AIDC on the development and production of the PDS Radiator.

Academician Ding and Mr. Ken Bollweg, Director of NASA's AMS-02 Program Office, made a special visit to Taiwan at the end of 2022 to understand the progress of the upgrade project. They not only visited the NCSIST to understand the progress of the electronics system, but also visited the Taichung plant of AIDC, and Professor Yi Yang of the Department of Physics, NCKU, who is in charge of the PDS Radiator project, explained the current progress to Academician Ding (Figure 3). (Figure 3). The NCKU and AIDC teams (Figure 4) are responsible for the design, simulation, and fabrication of this project, and are working closely with NASA engineers to ensure that the radiator panels can meet the rigors of the space environment.

On March 21-23, 2023, the Preliminary Design Review (PDR) for the AMS-02 upgrade program was held at the Jensen Space Center in Houston, U.S.A. The NCKU and AIDC team were invited to Houston to participate in the meeting and report the current progress to the NASA review committee. During the meeting, Prof. Yi Yang from NCKU reported on the progress of the PDS radiator and Team Leader Fu-Yong Xie from AIDC reported on the production progress, while representatives from NCSISTand Academia Sinica, Fu-Guo Yang, reported on the progress of the electronics system online. The AMS team's report at the initial design review meeting far exceeded the performance of a typical space mission, so the AMS-02 upgrade plan was officially approved at the NASA meeting on March 31 2023, confirming that the mission can proceed until liftoff and installation on the AMS probe on the International Space Station, which is expected to be completed and lifted off by the end of 2025.

"This is a very challenging mission, not only to develop something we have never done before, but also to meet various difficult conditions and to respond to changes in the mission at any time, so we must combine the resources and capabilities of all parties to accomplish this together. This is not only another joint mission between NCKU and AIDC, but also a breakthrough in the development of space technology for the entire Taiwan team," said Prof. Yi Yang.


See more
Temporal Structures in Electron Spectra and Charge Sign Effects in Galactic Cosmic Rays. M. Aguilar et al. (AMS Collaboration) Phys. Rev. Lett. 130, 161001 – Published 17 April 2023
https://journals.aps.org/prl/abstract/10.1103/PhysRevLett.130.161001

Figure 1: AMS experiment installed on the International Space Station

Fig. 2: Changes in the energy division of electrons and protons (right) with different years and (left) with different days

Figure 3: Professor Yi Yang (1st from right) of the Department of Physics, NCKU explains the progress of AMS-02 PDS Radiator to Academician Samuel C. C. Ting (middle)

Figure 4: NCKU and AIDC R&D team with Academician Samuel C. C. Ting (middle) and his wife at AIDC

NCKU Team's Cubesat Lilium-1 Successfully Launched and Operational

SDG9NCKU Team's Cubesat Lilium-1 Successfully Launched and Operational

View more
NCKU's "Robot Brick" at the 2024 Kaohsiung Education Festival showcases innovative construction methods.

SDG9NCKU's "Robot Brick" at the 2024 Kaohsiung Education Festival showcases innovative construction methods.

View more
"2024 Digital Learning Forum" Concludes Successfully: Exploring Educational Innovation Driven by Generative AI

SDG9"2024 Digital Learning Forum" Concludes Successfully: Exploring Educational Innovation Driven by Generative AI

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

No.1, University Road, Tainan City 701, Taiwan (R.O.C)

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。

人類首次精準測量太陽週期關鍵數據 影響未來太空任務 美國太空總署核准最新AMS實驗升級計畫 台灣團隊為幕後重要功臣-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

人類首次精準測量太陽週期關鍵數據 影響未來太空任務 美國太空總署核准最新AMS實驗升級計畫 台灣團隊為幕後重要功臣

SDG9

人類首次精準測量太陽週期關鍵數據 影響未來太空任務 美國太空總署核准最新AMS實驗升級計畫 台灣團隊為幕後重要功臣

Synergy Correlation

文/楊毅、葉佳彬 圖/楊毅提供 
 
包括國立成功大學、中央研究院、國家中山科學研究院與漢翔航空工業股份有限公司等台灣團隊參與的美國太空總署 AMS 實驗,利用過去 11 年做出的最新研究顯示,一個完整的太陽周期,電子與質子的能量分布隨著時間的變化有顯著的不同。台灣中央研究院物理所張元翰特聘研究員表示:「這是人類首次精確測量一整個太陽週期內,宇宙射線中不同電性粒子的流量變化。研究結果顯示了現有的理論無法解釋的趨勢,對太陽系內太空環境研究提供了關鍵的數據基礎。」而這個出乎預期的結果發表於物理評論快報 Physical Review Letters 上,受到編輯特別推薦並選為特別新聞發表研究,顯示了該研究的重要性。

阿爾法質譜儀(Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer, AMS)探測器是架設在國際太空站上的高能粒子探測器(如圖一),其主要任務是精密研究宇宙射線的特性以及了解宇宙生成的秘密。AMS 實驗是個大型的國際合作實驗,由諾貝爾得主丁肇中院士領導的國際研究團隊,包括了美國、德國、法國、義大利、中國大陸、台灣等國家共同參與,其中台灣團隊包括了中央研究院、成功大學、中科院與漢翔航空。
 
成大物理系教授楊毅解釋,在這個太空發展爆炸的時代裡,不論是在 GPS 導航、低軌通訊等等,都與我們每個人的日常生活息息相關,因此在設計用於太空中的儀器以及規劃未來人類去太空探索時,必須要非常了解宇宙輻射帶給這些儀器與我們身體的影響,其中最重要的宇宙輻射來源之一就是由太陽風暴所產生的高能粒子。

AMS 實驗利用過去 11 年(也就是一個完整的太陽周期)所做出的最新的研究結果顯示,電子與質子的能量分部隨著時間的變化有顯著的不同,不但在不同年份時電子跟質子的能量增減趨勢不同外(如圖二左,2011-2014 時電子與質子能量隨著時間同時遞減,但 2015 開始電子與質子能量卻隨著時間遞增,而到 2021 年時又再度承線遞減狀態),在短時間的周期中也有明顯的差異(如圖二右,電子明顯在第 9 天、13.5 天與 27 天時有明顯的周期現象,但質子卻沒有)。
 
要能夠精準從大量的帶正電的質子(絕大部分的宇宙射線)中分辨出帶負電的電子,必須仰賴 AMS 探測器中的磁鐵以及精密軌跡探測器。而中研院、成大、中科院與漢翔航空在 2017 年至 2020 年所參與的 AMS-02 UTTPS 升級計畫就是確保精密軌跡探測器可以持續運行到 AMS 任務結束為止。中研院與中科院所負責的 UTTPS 電子學系統,以及成大與漢翔所共同研發與製作的 UTTPS 散熱板,都是整個 AMS-02 UTTPS 計畫中的關鍵部分,台灣團隊的成果也受到丁肇中院士以及美國太空總署(National Aeronautics and Space Administration,縮寫為NASA)的極力肯定。

為了更進一步了解宇宙射線的特性,AMS 實驗需要在國際太空站結束任務前收集更多的數據資料,因此 2022 年丁肇中院士決定再次進行 AMS 探測器升級, 而此次升級計畫包括了增加一層面積超過 2.6 平方米的精密軌跡探測器(Tracker Layer-0)在 AMS 探測器的最上層。另外,在經過 11 年的運行,位在電源控制系統(Power Distribution System, PDS)上的輻射板已經老化並變質,因此也需要進行維修來確保 AMS 探測器可以持續運行,因此台灣團隊再次扛起重任,由中研院與中科院合作進行 Tracker Layer-0 的電路製作以及電子學系統的設計與製作,以及成大與漢翔團隊再次合作進行 PDS 散熱板(PDS Radiator)的研發與製作。
 
丁肇中院士與 NASA 的 AMS-02 計畫辦公室主任 Mr. Ken Bollweg 於 2022 年底特別赴台了解升級計畫進度,不但參訪中科院了解電子學系統進度,還參觀了漢翔航空台中廠,並由 PDS Radiator 計畫負責人成大物理系楊毅教授向丁肇中院士解釋目前進度(如圖三)。成大與漢翔團隊(圖四)在此計畫中負責了設計、模擬到製作,並與 NASA 工程師緊密合作確保所製作的散熱板能夠滿足嚴刻的太空環境。

2023年3月21至23日在美國休士頓的詹森太空中心舉辦了 AMS-02 升級計畫的初期設計審查會議(Preliminary Design Review, PDR),成大與漢翔團隊受邀到休士頓參與會議並向 NASA 審查委員會報告目前進度,會議中由成大楊毅教授報告 PDS radiator 的研發進度與漢翔航空謝福湧組長報告製作進度,而中研院與中科院代表楊扶國在線上報告電子學系統進度。此次初期設計審查會議中 AMS 團隊的報告遠超過一般太空任務的表現,因此在 3 月 31 日 NASA 的會議中正式核准 AMS-02 升級計畫,確定此任務可以一直進行到升空並安裝於位在國際太空站的 AMS 探測器上,此升級計畫預計在 2025 年底前完成並升空。
 
楊毅教授表示,「這是一個非常具有挑戰的任務,不但是研發我們從來沒有做過的事情,還需要滿足各種困難的條件並隨時因應任務的變化,因此我們必須結合各方的資源與能力一同完成,這不但是成大與漢翔再一次攜手進行任務,也是整個台灣團隊在太空技術發展的突破。」
 
 
 
維護單位: 新聞中心
更新日期: 2023-04-19

Temporal Structures in Electron Spectra and Charge Sign Effects in Galactic Cosmic Rays. M. Aguilar et al. (AMS Collaboration) Phys. Rev. Lett. 130, 161001 – Published 17 April 2023
https://journals.aps.org/prl/abstract/10.1103/PhysRevLett.130.161001
 

圖一:AMS實驗安裝於國際太空站上

圖二:電子與質子的能量分部(右)隨不同年份與(左)隨不同天的變化

圖三:成大物理系楊毅教授(右1)向丁肇中院士(中)解釋目前 AMS-02 PDS Radiator 的進行進度

圖四:成大與漢翔研發團隊與丁肇中院士(中)與夫人在漢翔合影

【112年度吳大猷先生紀念獎】測量及空間資訊學系郭佩棻副教授 以時空分析交通安全 創新跨域整合科研主題

SDG9【112年度吳大猷先生紀念獎】測量及空間資訊學系郭佩棻副教授 以時空分析交通安全 創新跨域整合科研主題

View more
下世代超輕薄可捲曲晶片 張景皓團隊找出可撓式奈米科技關鍵

SDG9下世代超輕薄可捲曲晶片 張景皓團隊找出可撓式奈米科技關鍵

View more
成大建築系團隊獲 2023 年總統盃黑客松卓越團隊 總統親自頒獎

SDG9成大建築系團隊獲 2023 年總統盃黑客松卓越團隊 總統親自頒獎

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

701 臺南市東區大學路1號 雲平大樓西棟7樓

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。