NCKU’s Human Powered Submarine “sat-ba̍k-hî” Won the Best Newcomer Award in Europe International Submarine Races-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

NCKU’s Human Powered Submarine “sat-ba̍k-hî” Won the Best Newcomer Award in Europe International Submarine Races

SDG4

NCKU’s Human Powered Submarine “sat-ba̍k-hî” Won the Best Newcomer Award in Europe International Submarine Races

Synergy Correlation

Team “TAO-HAI-REN” of NCKU brought the human-powered submarine from Taiwan to participate in the Europe International Submarine Races in Portsmouth, England. Though facing the difficulties of engine disorder, the driver infected by COVID-19,etc, they still passed the tests on land and underwater, making the record of first participation for Asian team. And because of the fully functional body of the submarine, they won the Best Newcomer Award. 

The race ended in the evening on July 15, the “sat-ba̍k-hî”  met a lot of twists and turns during the race. At the beginning of Wet Test, the buoyancy was reduced due to the compression of the foam volume, which caused the submarine to fail to float, the stern motor burned up , and the submarine fell. What’s more, the team members were infected by COVID-19 one after another, and when they repaired the submarine with less manpower difficulty, at last, they were still unable to get in the final round because of the infection of the driver, and lost the chance to compete with other teams.

Team “TAO-HAI-REN” arrived in England on July 3, successfully passed the test on land, followed by the underwater test on July 12 and got the qualification to join the race. The submarine, “sat-ba̍k-hî”, officially got on the stage of the race on July 13. However, the most important driver, student Wang, got infected by COVID-19, and other members were too tall to replace the role of the driver. Though the driver of Michigan said that he was willing to fill in for them, he also failed because of his tall and strong body type, making “sat-ba̍k-hî” failed to attend the final race on the last day because of the lack of driver.

The team leader of the department of Systems and Naval Mechatronic Engineering indicated that though the result was not very good, the team still got the chance to know how to improve in the future. For example, during the pandemic, they should care more about the member’s health. He said, “No matter what, we are satisfied to have the opportunity to bring sat-ba̍k-hî” abroad to attend the race, realizing our dream and finishing the impossible mission. And we really appreciate the support and careless from everyone!”

Team “TAO-HAI-REN” has been solving the difficulties such as engineering problems, fundraising, team operating, etc. They made every effort to attend the race in England, but failed to attend the final game, this made the team sad and disappointed. Two of the members said, “ The meaning of the race is not getting a good grade but making efforts together, completing the race with my teammates. The experience full of joy and tears is the most miraculous one during our student period.”

Chen, Jeng-Horng, the instructor of team “TAO-HAI-REN”, also the associate professor of the department of Systems and Naval Mechatronic Engineering indicated that as the first Asian team to attend the race, the team members needed to overcome the cold water temperature, the brand new race field. He said, “Our members got infected by COVID-19 one after another, even the driver couldn’t attend the race, so, literally, we were really beat by COVID-19.” However, the organizer was really surprised that Taiwan was able to make a fully functional submarine with Hydrodynamic Smooth Surface for the first time to attend the race. What’s more, “sat-ba̍k-hî” finished the test before University of Southampton, which also attend the race for the first time. Therefore, the team of NCKU won the award of the best newcomer. The professor who organized the Europe International Submarine Races will possibly visit NCKU’s  towing tank in February next year to evaluate the possibility of holding Asian race.

Team "TAO-HAI-REN" of NCKU created a fully functional body and won the best newcomer award in Europe International Submarine Races.

The team member, student of Department of Systems and Naval Mechatronic Engineering, NCKU, thanked all circles for their support and concern for 「sat-ba̍k-hî」.

The members worked hard to overcome difficulties and finally participated in the game successfully.

Players from all over the world encouraged each other and exchanged opinions at the awards ceremony.

QinetiQ,  the rotating arm and seakeeping tank are eye-opening for students.

111 MOE Teaching Practice Research Program NCKU Has the Highest Number of 47 Approved Projects Among National Universities

SDG4111 MOE Teaching Practice Research Program NCKU Has the Highest Number of 47 Approved Projects Among National Universities

View more
Leading Southeastern U.S. Chinese Education: Opening of Auburn University-NCKU Taiwan Center of Chinese Language and Culture

SDG4Leading Southeastern U.S. Chinese Education: Opening of Auburn University-NCKU Taiwan Center of Chinese Language and Culture

View more
Let's Play Science - 2023 Tainan Science Week begins.

SDG4Let's Play Science - 2023 Tainan Science Week begins.

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

No.1, University Road, Tainan City 701, Taiwan (R.O.C)

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。

成大人力潛艇「sat-ba̍k-hî」奪歐洲國際潛艇大賽最佳新人獎-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

成大人力潛艇「sat-ba̍k-hî」奪歐洲國際潛艇大賽最佳新人獎

SDG4

成大人力潛艇「sat-ba̍k-hî」奪歐洲國際潛艇大賽最佳新人獎

Synergy Correlation

國立成功大學「討海人」團隊,帶著來自台灣的人力潛艇「sat-ba̍k-hî」(台語「虱目魚」),首次到英國樸茨茅斯(Portsmouth)參加歐洲國際潛艇大賽,遇上馬達失靈、駕駛確診COVID-19等難關,仍不屈不撓地依序通過陸地、水中測驗,締造亞洲隊伍首度出賽的記錄,並因打造出機能齊全的機身,獲大會頒發最佳新人獎。
 
歐洲國際潛艇大賽15日傍晚結束,「虱目魚號」比賽過程一波三折,剛開始水中測試(Wet Test)時,就因泡綿體積被壓縮導致浮力減少,導致潛艇浮不起來,尾翼馬達燒壞、潛艇下墜,加上隊員陸續確診,好不容易在人力減少的情況之下,排除萬難修理好潛艇,卻因駕駛確診無法順利進行決賽,而失去最後與其它隊伍競技的機會。
 
成大「討海人」團隊7月3日飛抵英國,之後順利通過陸地測試,緊接著 12 日進行水中測試,確定潛艇安全性後取得參賽資格,讓「虱目魚號」在13日正式登場,但此時最重要的駕駛大一同學王丹詡確診,而其它隊員因身材高大無法頂替駕駛,雖然美國密西根團隊駕駛也表達願意頂替上場,但同樣因為人高馬大無法順利進入艙內,使得「虱目魚號」最終在缺少駕駛的情況下無法在最後一天決賽時出場。
 
成大系統及船舶機電工程學系(系統系)大五、「討海人」團隊隊長的王丕丞表示,首次出賽雖不圓滿,但也看見了未來改善的方向,像是疫情期間應將人員照顧納為重要考量,「但無論如何,能夠帶著虱目魚號出航圓夢,完成這趟不可能的任務,已經心滿意足。尤其要感謝各界對虱目魚號的支持與關心,我們做到了!」
 
「討海人」團隊兩年多來逐一克服工程難題、資金籌措、團隊運作各種難題,好不容易赴英出賽,但未能讓「虱目魚號」在決賽時下水,隊員們都難掩失望。成大系統系大四隊員薛皓丞、魏珩育透過網路電話說:「比賽的意義不在於拿到好名次,而是讓大家為自己的青春奮力拚搏,靠著我和其他夥伴的力量完成比賽,這樣甘苦與喜悅交織的競賽體驗,真的是求學期間最精采、奇幻的旅程。」
 
指導老師成大系統及船舶機電工程學系副教授陳政宏表示,身為亞洲首次參賽的隊伍,隊員們需克服極為寒冷的水溫、全新的賽場,「我們真的可以說被Covid-19 打敗,因為隊員陸續確診,修理能力、速度緩慢,甚至連駕駛都無法下水」, 但是大會對台灣首次參賽,就能打造出具有流力平滑表面(Hydrodynamic Smooth Surface)且機能齊全的潛艇都感到相當驚喜,加上比第一次參賽的英國南安普敦大學早完成測試,因此獲得大會頒發最佳新人獎。明年二月主辦歐洲國際潛艇大賽的教授,有望來成大水槽參訪,評估舉辦亞洲賽的可能性。
 
維護單位: 新聞中心
更新日期: 2022-07-18

成大「討海人」團隊因打造出機能齊全的機身,獲大會頒發最佳新人獎

成大系統及船舶機電工程學系(系統系)大四、「討海人」團隊隊員薛皓丞,感謝各界對虱目魚號的支持與關心。

隊員們努力克服困難讓虱目魚號出賽

頒獎典禮上來自全球的選手相互鼓勵、交換意見

QinetiQ基地,碩大的迴旋臂、耐海性能水槽 讓學生大開眼界

2023 成大校園公共藝術論壇 探討並描繪公共藝術校園新未來

SDG42023 成大校園公共藝術論壇 探討並描繪公共藝術校園新未來

View more
成大數位創新學院實驗計畫 Coding-X 成果發表 鼓勵學生跨域學習

SDG4成大數位創新學院實驗計畫 Coding-X 成果發表 鼓勵學生跨域學習

View more
成功大學X潮州高中科學營 結合科學教育與原民文化知識受歡迎

SDG4成功大學X潮州高中科學營 結合科學教育與原民文化知識受歡迎

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

701 臺南市東區大學路1號 雲平大樓西棟7樓

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。