Contributing to Taiwan's Medical Device Industry: NCKU becomes first university licensed to manufacture and sell medical devices-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

Contributing to Taiwan's Medical Device Industry: NCKU Becomes First University Licensed to Manufacture and Sell Medical Devices

SDG3

Contributing to Taiwan's Medical Device Industry: NCKU Becomes First University Licensed to Manufacture and Sell Medical Devices

Synergy Correlation

“As a comprehensive university, National Cheng Kung University (NCKU) has sought to transform itself from a large and traditional institution as it pushes forward the frontiers of smart medicine and pandemic prevention by strengthening industry-government-academia collaboration to create a more promising future for Taiwan. This is what NCKU has been striving for.” On July 8th, 2022, NCKU obtained  medical device manufacturing and a selling licenses issued by the Public Health Bureau, Tainan City Government, becoming the first university to do so in Taiwan since the Medical Devices Act took effect in 2021.
 
At a ceremony on the morning of July 8th, NCKU President Huey-Jen Su received the licenses from I-Lin Hsu, Director General of the Tainan Public Health Bureau. A number of respected guests were present to witness this historic moment, including Dr. Hong-Chen Chen, Director General of the Department of Life Sciences, MOST, Meng-Ru Shen, Superintendent of NCKU Hospital, Chih-Han Chang, Director of the Medical Device Innovation Center, NCKU, and Yi-Shan Tsai, Director of the Clinical Innovation and Research Center, NCKU. 

In her speech, NCKU President Su said that NCKU was very happy to achieve mutual growth with the city of Tainan and has since found its purpose as a university. NCKU has recently been working with the Tainan City Government by using artificial intelligence in the reading and verification of screening Covid-19 rapid test results, which is further connected to the “Tainan Shared Care Cloud.” NCKU enthusiastically hopes to make the best use of its health research capacity and give back to the city of Tainan and society.    
 
President Su also stressed that NCKU, as a comprehensive university, has spared no effort to search for new paths and build new realities with the generous help of many allies and partners as well as the university’s faculty and staff. Through a deep linkage between technology and academia, NCKU is able to conduct accurate research and reevaluate experimental validation. Being licensed to manufacture and sell medical devices is also an active effort that reflects NCKU’s ambition to accelerate the progress toward a brighter future, which has been the responsibility and mission of NCKU since its inception. 
 
As pointed out by Hong-Chen Chen, NCKU has long been renowned for its great contribution to the field of medical devices, with a series of efforts to promote talent cultivation, strengthen innovation and research capabilities, and initiate industry-academia collaboration. In recent years, NCKU and its affiliated hospital have strongly incorporated big data and artificial intelligence into smart medicine while taking an active role in a number of programs relating to smart medicine and precision health promotion hosted by MOST, Taiwan. By obtaining a license to manufacture and sell medical devices, NCKU has established a new milestone for smart medicine.
 
Hong-Chen Chen stressed that precision health is one of the six core strategic industries in Taiwan and is also regarded as a major objective of government policy. Given that smart medicine plays a crucial role in the promotion of precision health, MOST recruits research institutions and medical centers as partners to jointly promote smart medicine in the five key dimensions: building data infrastructure, innovating the software and hardware development of medical devices, evaluating clinical validity, creating a forensic framework, and ensuring the development of medical clusters. With the coordination of policy implementation across departments and agencies, NCKU has sought to promote precision medicine in the hope of making Taiwan a benchmark country in precision health.  
 
I-Lin Hsu observed that industry-government-academia collaboration should be changed to academia-government-industry collaboration because collaborations to promote the development of medical devices are currently being led by universities. Clearly, NCKU has made adequate preparations over the years and has achieved remarkable success. With wide support from the public and private sectors, Tainan is anticipated to become Taiwan’s best biotech city in promoting health for all citizens.

On May 1st, 2021, the Medical Devices Act was brought into force not only to encourage the research and development of medical devices but also to accelerate product innovation and time-to-market efforts. The Act was promulgated to allow educational institutions, legal persons, and organizations to apply for licenses associated with medical devices in order to enhance the speed to market, thus benefiting patients and promoting the development of industry.
 
As pointed out by the NCKU Medical Device Innovation Center, a university that applies for registration as a medical device manufacturer and then successfully obtains a product license boasts four competitive edges. Firstly, unlike a profit-driven corporation, a university will optimize the first-mile mobility in the commercialization of innovative medical devices. Secondly, companies that intend to develop innovative medical devices may tap into the research capabilities of a university in order to accelerate the process of obtaining licenses for medical devices or products. Thirdly, with a university taking full responsibility for the medical device product life cycle, it is very likely that the R&D team within the university will change their mindsets and pay equal attention to the quality, safety, and efficacy of medical products while simultaneously focusing on technological breakthroughs. Fourthly, the surveillance after a medical device or product is launched involves newly emerging clinical evaluation methods and forensic science that require clinical evidence in real-life situations. This may lead to further collaborations across disciplines and fields.
 
NCKU and its affiliated hospital have long been dedicated to research in smart medicine and have helped to foster the development of industry through the integration of various advantages of different departments and colleges, by allocating resources in research design and development in order to meet the unmet needs proposed by NCKU Hospital. After newly created medical devices have been clinically validated using feedback intervention at the affiliated hospital, NCKU will continue to partner with industry allies to jointly create an R&D added-value supply chain for innovation in smart medicine. In terms of talent cultivation, NCKU became in 2021 Taiwan’s first university that conducts training and certification for medical device technicians (Documentation No.: 1109023531), which no doubt contributes to the medical device industry in Taiwan.
 
Under the guidance of a number of government agencies, including MOE, MOST, MOHW, and the Tainan City Government, NCKU has sought to accelerate the development of innovative medical devices, promote industry-academia collaboration, foster startups, and expand overseas connections alongside its Medical Device Innovation Center and Clinical Innovation and Research Center, thereby obtaining two licenses for manufacturing and selling medical devices in compliance with current law regulations.  

For example, NCKU Hospital received consultation services from MOHW for medical devices based on artificial intelligence and machine learning technology about its clinically validated body composition analyzer this year. An application for medical device certification is expected soon. This sets an example for other universities to emulate in conducting R&D in innovative medical devices and obtaining licenses accordingly.
 
NCKU and its affiliated hospital have shouldered the responsibility as an educational and research institution while staying focused on providing services and ensuring the health of people in Taiwan. By assisting in the promotion of national public policy, the protection of healthcare, and industrial development and transformation, NCKU has created a deep linkage with biotech industries for years in order to improve biomedical technology. Through responding to the needs of society and addressing key global issues, NCKU has realized the true spirit of an excellent university.   

NCKU obtained  medical device manufacturing and a selling licenses, becoming the first university to do so in Taiwan

NCKU was very happy to achieve mutual growth with the city of Tainan and has since found its purpose as a university, said NCKU President Su

NCKU President Huey-Jen Su received the licenses from I-Lin Hsu, Director General of the Tainan Public Health Burea

Professors in NCKU and NCKU hospital were invited in the ceremony

The Pain Will Fly Away – Art Exhibition for Epidermolysis Bullosa

SDG3The Pain Will Fly Away – Art Exhibition for Epidermolysis Bullosa

View more
The OralUp Team Won a Silver Medal in the 2022 TMU-BME Creative Competition

SDG3The OralUp Team Won a Silver Medal in the 2022 TMU-BME Creative Competition

View more
NCKU Improves Mental Health Care Capacity by Increasing Daytime Counseling Spaces and Night Service Hours

SDG3NCKU Improves Mental Health Care Capacity by Increasing Daytime Counseling Spaces and Night Service Hours

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

No.1, University Road, Tainan City 701, Taiwan (R.O.C)

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。

肩負使命為臺灣醫材產業貢獻心力 成大率先成為全國第一所取得醫材製造及販賣商許可的大學-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

肩負使命為臺灣醫材產業貢獻心力 成大率先成為全國第一所取得醫材製造及販賣商許可的大學

SDG3

肩負使命為臺灣醫材產業貢獻心力 成大率先成為全國第一所取得醫材製造及販賣商許可的大學

Synergy Correlation

「做為一所綜合型大學,成大嘗試創新不同於原來大型、傳統,具規模醫院所看待智慧醫療及防疫的可能性,透過產官學研的串聯,提供大眾更好的未來,這也是成大的使命。」國立成功大學於 7 月 8 日獲臺南市衛生局頒發醫療器材製造商及販賣商許可證,率先成為《醫療器材管理法》上路後,全國第一所取得醫療器材製造商及販賣商許可之大專院校機構。
 
7月8日上午,成大校長蘇慧貞代表接受臺南市衛生局長許以霖頒贈許可證,科技部生命科學研究發展司長陳鴻震、成大醫院院長沈孟儒、成大前瞻醫療器材科技中心主任張志涵、成大醫院臨床創新研發中心主任蔡依珊等皆到場見證重要時刻。
蘇慧貞校長致詞表示,成功大學很開心跟著臺南一起茁壯成長,找到成大的意義,像是近期與臺南市政府合作,以 AI 判讀快篩試劑技術串聯臺南共照雲等,成大希望盡其所能作為一個教研單位來回饋這個城市與社會。
 
蘇慧貞校長也提到,成功大學在各方夥伴協助以及同事的智慧與經驗之下,盡其所能在這所綜合型大學裡建構與嘗試新的道路,透過科技與學術專業串聯,在第一時間進行最精準的學術研究與實驗驗證。成大取得醫療器材製造商及販賣商許可,無非是希望加速推動路程,提供社會大眾更好的未來,這也是成功大學的使命與責任。
 
科技部生命科學研究發展司長陳鴻震指出,成大在醫療器材領域,從人才培育、創新研發到產學合作向來享有盛名,加上大數據以及人工智慧的導入,成大與成大醫學院附設醫院這幾年大力推動智慧醫療,也積極參與科技部智慧醫療和精準健康的相關計畫,這次取得醫療器材製造商及販賣商許可證更是為智慧醫療立下新的里程碑。
 
陳鴻震司長提到,精準健康是國家六大戰略產業之一,是政府很重要的市政目標,而智慧醫療是當中相當重要一環。科技部攜手各學研單位以及醫學中心共同推動智慧醫療,以數據基盤的建立、創新醫材軟硬體的研發、臨床驗證、法規取證、聚落的發展為五大重要發展要素,在跨部會協力、協調下共同推動精準健康和智慧醫療,期望早日讓臺灣成為世界上精準健康的標竿國家。
 
臺南市衛生局長許以霖提到,「產官學」現在應該改為「學官產」,由大專院校主動走出來領導醫材發展。而成功大學已經準備良久,現在一切開花結果,在各方單位全力支援、配合下,臺南將會成為未來最好的生技城市,達到促進全民健康的目的。
《醫療器材管理法》於 2021 年 5 月 1 日正式施行,此法為鼓勵醫療器材研發、產品創新及加速醫療器材上市,認同公司或商業以外之機構、學校、法人或團體也可申請醫療器材許可,以加速產品上市的期程而造福病患,推動產業發展。
 
成大前瞻醫療器材科技中心表示,與時俱進下,大專院校申請成為醫療器材商,進而取得產品許可證將有四大優勢,第一項,不以營利為目標的大專院校,將可提供創新醫材商品化後的第一哩路;第二項,對於即將投入創新醫材的開發者,可以藉由大專院校的研發量能加速取得醫療器材產品許可證;第三項,大專院校將承擔醫療器材品質的全生命週期,將可改變校內研發人員思維,不只專注於技術突破,更要維持良好品質確保安全性及有效性;第四項,上市後的監控涉及目前新興臨床評估方法及真實世界的臨床證據之法規科學研究,將有助於跨領域學門的合作。
 
成功大學與成大醫學院附設醫院長期致力於智慧醫療研究及協助產業發展,整合校院優勢,由成大醫院提出未被滿足的臨床需求(unmet need),透過媒合成大校部強大的研究量能進行研究設計與開發,將打造出的創新醫材於成大醫院進行臨床驗證及回饋設計,並攜手產業夥伴合作,建構智慧醫療創新加值研發鏈。在人才培育方面,2021 年成功大學也率先成為臺灣第一所大專院校辦理醫材技術人員訓練及認證之法人(認證字號 1109023531),為臺灣醫療器材產業貢獻一份心力。
 
國立成功大學為加速創新醫材開發、產學合作、新創事業及海外推廣發展,在教育部、科技部、衛福部、臺南市政府多方主管單位共同指導下,與成大前瞻醫療器材科技中心與成大醫院臨床創新研發中心共同努力下,順利接軌法規變革,取得醫療器材製造商及販賣商兩項許可認證。
 
由成大醫院作為驗證場域的「身體組成分析軟體醫材」,今年也獲得衛福部國產人工智慧/機器學習技術之醫療器材的諮詢輔導,預計今年申請醫療器材認證,展現大專院校創新醫療器材產學研發至取證的最佳典範!
 
成功大學及成大醫院肩負落實教學、研究、服務及守護台灣民眾健康的社會責任及使命,多年來全力協助國家公共政策推動,協助健康照護及產業經濟轉型的發展,在生技醫療領域與產業深耕合作,協助生醫產業技術提升,體現了頂尖大學主動回應社會與世界關鍵議題的意義與貢獻。
 

成大率先成為全國第一所取得醫材製造及販賣商許可的大學

蘇慧貞校長提到,成大希望盡其所能作為一個教研單位來回饋這個城市與社會

團台南市衛生局長(左)許以霖頒贈許可證,由成大校長蘇慧貞(右)代表接受。

由左至右,成大醫院臨床創新研發中心主任蔡依珊、成大醫院院長沈孟儒、台南市衛生局長許以霖、成大校長蘇慧貞、科技部生命科學研究發展司長陳鴻震、成大前瞻醫療器材科技中心主任張志涵

輕鬆檢測疫苗保護力 成大生技系許觀達團隊研究登國際期刊

SDG3輕鬆檢測疫苗保護力 成大生技系許觀達團隊研究登國際期刊

View more
成大 112 學年度第 1 學期學生事務與輔導工作研討會 - 設計你的人生 認識真實的自己

SDG3成大 112 學年度第 1 學期學生事務與輔導工作研討會 - 設計你的人生 認識真實的自己

View more
持續對抗神經退化 張南山師生再度獲邀至美國 ASBMB 演講

SDG3持續對抗神經退化 張南山師生再度獲邀至美國 ASBMB 演講

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

701 臺南市東區大學路1號 雲平大樓西棟7樓

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。