From Nation's First to the World's Top: President Tsai Attends NCKU's Groundbreaking for National Ship Model Test Basin Extensio-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

From Nation's First to the World's Top: President Tsai Attends NCKU's Groundbreaking Ceremony for National Ship Model Test Basin

SDG9

From Nation's First to the World's Top: President Tsai Attends NCKU's Groundbreaking Ceremony for National Ship Model Test Basin

Synergy Correlation

  •  
From Nation's First to the World's Top: President Tsai Attends NCKU's Groundbreaking for National Ship Model Test Basin Extension

On the morning of February 25, President Tsai attended the groundbreaking of "National High Performance Ship Model Test Basin" in NCKU. The basin was the collaborative result of NCKU, the Naval Shipbuilding Development Center, and CSBC Corporation, Taiwan. After the extension was completed, the length of the basin will be extended from the currently 165 meters to 285 meters, which was capable for both military and industrial experiments. In a long term, the basin would help reduce the research and development cost while ensureing the security of the key technics. "The National High Performance Ship Model Test Basin will be the pivot of domestically producing naval vessels," President Tsai mentioned.
 
President Tsai appreciated NCKU, CSBC Corporation, Taiwan, and the Navy Ship Development Center for the efforts, and delivered her best wishes for the timely extension completion, so tests can be carried out as soon as possible, boosting the domestic shipbuilding industry and the design capabilities of our own naval vessels.
   
NCKU's president Su said that meeting the needs of our society and country through technology research and development and talent cultivation has always been NCKU's top priority. The extended basin will become the second-longest water tank in the world and the longest in Southeast Asia. With everyone's help, she hoped the university can come up in the world.
 
After her arrival at 10:50 a.m., President Tsai Ing-wen spent 20 minutes visiting NCKU's tank facility, where she listened to relative reports and observed the testing accompanied by NCKU's president Su and others. Then, President Tsai arrived at the venue as the moderator and NCKU's President Su as the vice moderator. Many dignitaries attended the ceremony, including Tainan Mayor Huang Wei-che, National Security Council Deputy Secretary-General Chen Wen-cheng, National Security Council Senior Advisor Huang Shu-kuang, NCKU's Vice President Dr. Fong-Chin Su, Asia World Engineering & Construction Co. Director Fan Ciao-Jhen, professor of the Department of Systems and Naval Mechatronic Engineering Fang Ming-Chung, and the chairman of the Department of Systems and Naval Mechatronic Engineering Chen Yung-Yu. Then, every guest held a shovel, marking the start of construction of the "National High Performance Ship Model Test Basin."
 
During the ceremony, the president also remarked on the Russia-Ukraine crisis and stated that we strongly condemn Russia's unilateral attack, its invasion of Ukraine, and its violation of Ukrainian sovereignty that destroy the peace and stability in that region and all the world. She said we hope both sides could hold the peaceful dialogue at the earliest opportunity and find a rational solution. As a member of the international community, Taiwan is willing to participate in any effort made to solve the dispute, and we were already joining the economic sanctions imposed on Russia, the president mentioned. 
 
President Tsai emphasized that the situation in Ukraine was much different in essence from that in the Taiwan Strait. She also noted that with our military's strong will to defend our land and our continuous improvement of combat forces, Taiwanese people can trust in Taiwan's security.
 
The president then stated that domestic naval vessel production was a key sector of Taiwan's national defense independence, which was crucial to demonstrate Taiwan's self-defense determination. The president marked the groundbreaking as an important moment for Taiwan's shipbuilding industry that would boost our domestic naval vessel production. She expected "The National High Performance Ship Model Test Basin" can save the time in research and development of shipbuilding, hence making the industry more competitive.
 
President Tsai stated that the significance of the ceremony was the upgradation of Taiwan's naval vessel testing capabilities and the quickness of the tests. In the past, due to the limitation of the water tank size and the towing carriage​'s speed, the tests were almost conducted by foreign commercial water tanks, which spent much time and money.
   
President Tsai mentioned that the Department of Systems and Naval Mechatronic Engineering of NCKU housed the largest ship test tank in Taiwan, which received Energy Efficiency Design Index (EEDI) certification and the ISO 9001 quality certification from the Nippon Kaiji Kyokai (ClassNK) in 2017. Its currently testing capability is already equal to those in national laboratories in European countries. After the extension, the testing capability can be upgraded, expediting the process of design, testing, and modifications, saving research and development time and making our shipbuilding industry more competitive.
 
NCKU president, Huey-Jen Su pointed out that as a top research university, NCKU provides comprehensive warship design courses. About 30% of Taiwan’s naval scientific research personnel and over 25% of contract engineers are graduated from NCKU. The percentage of graduated female engineers was up to 20%, being the highest in Taiwan. This year, NCKU not only welcomed the female sailing champions of the National University and College Athletic Games as a student but also contributed to every aspect of maritime industrial developments, from fishery, merchant ships, warships, to submarines.
 
NCKU President Su said that NCKU integrated its research results and technology from the aerospace wind tunnel, materials and information and communications systems, and electrical and mechanical. The university's greatest ambition was to quickly and systematically support Taiwan's development and construction. In the effort of Taiwan's national defense self-reliant, NCKU will become the key strength.
   
NCKU towing tank, which was 165 meters long, four meters deep, and eight meters across, was the largest in Taiwan and one of the world’s top five university towing tanks. After the extension, it will be 285 meters in length, 5.5 meters in depth, and eight meters in width, becoming the second biggest university ship testing tank in the world.
 
Naval Shipbuilding Development Center (NSDC) and the CSBC Corporation believed that the NCKU tank can alone shoulder the research and development tests of maritime industrial developments in the next 30 years since it would be capable to carry out most of the tank experiments, including propeller open water test, bare hull resistance test, self-propulsion test​, ink paint test, wake survey test, and planar motion test.
 
Scaled ship models used in towing tank testing were dragged by towing carriages and evaluated their performance. According to the fluid mechanics principles, the larger the model, the more accurate the result, so, the bigger the tank, the better. However, larger models must go faster during the testing to obtain a more accurate result.
 
Comparing the test results of NCKU's current towing tank and that of the United States Naval Research Laboratory (NRL), during slow-speed operation (speed below 4 m/s) the results were very similar. However, even the towing carriages were upgraded, the length of the current tank prevented us from reaching the high speed (speed above 10-11m/s), thus unable to test future high-speed ships or torpedoes, which showed the importance of extending the tank.
 

The Groundbreaking Ceremony of National High Performance Ship Model Test Basin at NCKU

President Tsai vistied Department of Systems and Naval Mechatronic Engineering of NCKU

President Tsai arrived at the venue as the moderator in the worship section of the ceremony

President Tsai stated that domestic naval vessel production was a key sector of Taiwan's national defense independence

the significance of the ceremony was the upgradation of Taiwan's naval vessel testing capabilities and the quickness of the tests

NCKU president, Huey-Jen Su presents NCKU souvenir "Mastu Fog" scarf to President Tsai

NCKU president, Huey-Jen Su, said  NCKU will become the key strength In the effort of Taiwan's national defense self-reliant

NCKU towing tank will be 285 meters in length, 5.5 meters in depth, and eight meters in width in the future

NCKU Develops Novel Architecture to Improve Performance of Unmanned Rotorcraft

SDG9NCKU Develops Novel Architecture to Improve Performance of Unmanned Rotorcraft

View more
A Peek into Ancient Wisdom: Hong-Sen Yan Becomes First Asian Recipient of ASME's Engineer-Historian Award

SDG9A Peek into Ancient Wisdom: Hong-Sen Yan Becomes First Asian Recipient of ASME's Engineer-Historian Award

View more
B5G Future Trend of Smart Communication NCKU Develops CubeSat "IRIS-A" and Completes Communication in Space

SDG9B5G Future Trend of Smart Communication NCKU Develops CubeSat "IRIS-A" and Completes Communication in Space

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

No.1, University Road, Tainan City 701, Taiwan (R.O.C)

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。

從全國第一跨向世界頂尖 蔡總統親臨成功大學啟動國家級船艦試驗水槽動土延伸-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

從全國第一跨向世界頂尖 蔡總統親臨成功大學啟動國家級船艦試驗水槽動土儀式

SDG9

從全國第一跨向世界頂尖 蔡總統親臨成功大學啟動國家級船艦試驗水槽動土儀式

Synergy Correlation

  •  
國艦國造重要里程碑!由國立成功大學與海軍造船發展中心、台灣國際造船公司共同建置的「高性能國家級船艦試驗水槽」25 日舉行動土儀式,將原長 165 公尺的拖航水槽延伸至 285 公尺,可肩負軍民通用的船模實驗,節省研製成本更保障關鍵技術不外流。蔡英文總統親臨主持並表示「此次動土將是國艦國造的最大動力。」
 
蔡英文總統表示,「感謝成大以及台船和海發中心的付出,期許工程如期如質完成,盡速投入船艦測試,讓國內造船產業更加蓬勃發展,船艦設計的量能更能夠堅實。」成大校長蘇慧貞則指出,「成大一直致力於透過技術研發與人才培育貢獻國家社會的需要。啟動後的拖航水槽將完成世界大學第二長、東南亞地區最長的水槽規模,希望在所有人的努力下一起變成世界第一。」
 
蔡英文總統於上午 10 點 50 分抵達成大,在成大校長蘇慧貞等人陪同下參訪成大現有拖航水槽設施,歷時 20 分鐘,聽取簡報並實際觀察船艦拖航實驗重點。隨後抵達會場進行祈福動土儀式,蔡英文總統擔任主典者,成大蘇慧貞校長擔任陪典者,台南市長黃偉哲、國安會副秘書長陳文政、國安會諮詢委員黃曙光上將、科技部工程司司長李志鵬、立委王定宇、台灣造船董事長鄭文隆、成大副校長蘇芳慶、水槽營建商世久營造探勘工程股份有限公司董事長夫人范巧貞、成大系統系教授方銘川與成大系統系主任陳永裕等貴賓,上香行敬獻禮,祈祝工程一切平安圓滿順利,接著一齊執鏟,正式啟動成大「高性能國家級船艦試驗水槽」延伸工程。
 
蔡總統致詞時針對近日烏克蘭局勢發言表示,「俄羅斯片面展開軍事行動,我們嚴正譴責俄羅斯對烏克蘭主權的侵害以及對於區域及全球和平穩定的破壞,我們期盼各方儘速恢復和平對話,理性解決爭端,而台灣作為國際社會的一員,對於有助於解決爭議的努力我們都願意參與,台灣也會加入國際社會對俄羅斯的經濟制裁。」
 
蔡總統強調,「台海的局勢和烏克蘭的局勢有本質上的不同,在國軍防衛國土的意志與戰力不斷提升下,有堅強的信心維護台灣的安全,請國人放心。」
 
蔡總統接著表示,國艦國造就是台灣國防自主的重要的一環,國防自主就是展現台灣自我防衛決心的關鍵所在。「今天的動土不僅是台灣造船產業的重要時刻,也將成為國艦國造進步的最大動力,期待『高性能國家級船艦試驗水槽』未來在船艦設計、測試修改上,能夠更快的掌握與節省研發造船的時間,讓產業更有競爭力。」
 
蔡英文總統指出,今天高性能國家級船艦試驗水槽動土最重要的意義就是要讓我們船艦試驗能量再強化,性能測試更快速。過去國內船艦性能測試,因為國內試測的水槽長度跟測試載台的速度不足,絕大部分是委託國外商用水槽進行。不僅時間冗長、花費也多。
 
蔡總統表示,成功大學系統及船舶機電工程學系擁有國內最大船艦試驗水槽,2017 年通過日本海事協會品質認證,不論試驗、能量、品質都跟歐洲國家實驗室相當。未來完成水槽延案後,可以搭配現有人力、設備,大幅強化船艦試驗能量,在船艦設計、測試修改上,就能夠更快的掌握,節省研發造船的時間,讓產業更有競爭力。
 
蘇慧貞校長致詞時指出,成大作為頂尖研究型大學,提供全面性的軍艦設計課程。海軍科研人力中有百分之 30 畢業自成大,目前非編制人員的工程師有超過四分之一是成大畢業生,而成大培育的女性工程師佔了百分之 20 以上,是全國最高比例。今年成大不僅吸引全大運帆船金牌女國手選擇成大就讀,在研發上,成大在漁業、商船、軍艦、潛艇等重工業也都全方位參與。
 
蘇慧貞校長指出,成大的傳承,結合鄰近高鐵站的歸仁校區,所有的國家級航太風洞研究,材料及資通訊系統以及機電領域的整合完整搭配。成大最大的志願是,快速地、系統性地支持國家在下一階段的建設發展,在國防自主的努力當中,將有來自成大學研單位最關鍵的力量。
 
成大拖航水槽目前長 165 公尺、深 4 公尺、寬 8 公尺,是台灣第一大、世界大學前五大的船模實驗水槽。此次延伸工程將擴展成大拖航水槽達長 285 公尺、深 5.5 公尺、寬 8 公尺之規模,逼近大學船模實驗水槽世界最長的規模,晉身世界第二大的大學船模拖航實驗水槽。
 
成大拖航水槽經國防部海軍造船發展中心與台灣國際造船公司評估,可獨力承擔我國後續 30 年軍艦戰力佈局規劃的研發試驗重任。項目包含水面船艦、潛艇、水下載具進行單獨螺槳實驗、裸船阻力實驗、船模自推實驗、多色油墨實驗、跡流與流場測量、平面運動實驗等,涵蓋了大部份船模實驗項目。
 
船模實驗利用縮小比例的模型,用台車拖帶、測量船模的各種性能。根據流體力學原理,模型越大結果越準確,所以水槽越大越好;但是模型越大,實驗速度也要跟著增加,模擬相似度才會高。
 
成大現階段的拖航水槽設備與美國海軍實驗室比較公開潛艇數據的實驗結果顯示,在每秒 4 公尺以下的低速部分,雙方實驗結果非常吻合;但是因為水槽長度限制,即使台車升級,我們也沒法做到他們每秒 10 到 11 公尺的高速區,也就無法測試未來高速艦艇或魚雷,也因此凸顯了此次水槽延長的重要性。
 
維護單位: 新聞中心
更新日期: 2022-02-25

「高性能國家級船艦試驗水槽」動土典禮

蔡英文總統參觀系統系的科研成果展品「高速水下武器」

蔡英文總統擔任主典者,成大蘇慧貞校長擔任陪典者,與眾貴賓上香行敬獻禮,祈祝工程一切平安圓滿順利

蔡總統表示今天的動土不僅是台灣造船產業的重要時刻,也將成為國艦國造進步的最大動力

高性能國家級船艦試驗水槽動土最重要的意義就是要讓我們船艦試驗能量再強化,性能測試更快速

成大校長蘇慧貞(右)致贈蔡總統「霧起馬祖意象圍巾」

蘇慧貞校長強調成大最大的志願是,快速地、系統性地支持國家在下一階段的建設發展

成大拖航水槽目前長 165 公尺、深 4 公尺、寬 8 公尺,是台灣第一大、世界大學前五大的船模實驗水槽

鑑古證今有創見 成大名譽講座顏鴻森全球首位亞洲工程歷史學家

SDG9鑑古證今有創見 成大名譽講座顏鴻森全球首位亞洲工程歷史學家

View more
成大越南海外基地「2023 創新創意競賽」

SDG9成大越南海外基地「2023 創新創意競賽」

View more
第二屆國防應用無人機挑戰賽開始報名 330 萬高額總獎金重磅登場

SDG9第二屆國防應用無人機挑戰賽開始報名 330 萬高額總獎金重磅登場

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

701 臺南市東區大學路1號 雲平大樓西棟7樓

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。