【Young Scholar】NCKU 90 and Beyond Project Scholar Luke Smith's Research Results Featured in International Journal PRL-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

【Young Scholar】NCKU  90 and Beyond Project Scholar Luke Smith's Research Results Featured in International Journal PRL

SDG9

【Young Scholar】NCKU 90 and Beyond Project Scholar Luke Smith's Research Results Featured in International Journal PRL

Synergy Correlation

【Young Scholar】NCKU  90 and Beyond Project Scholar Luke Smith's Research Results Featured in International Journal PRL

Good news from NCKU's new students! Luke Smith, an assistant research professor in the NCKU 90 and Beyond incubation program, published a paper as the first author in November 2021, in which he demonstrated the experimental results of the all-electric control of the Kondo effect by generating spin-orbit interactions. The paper was published in Physical Review Letters (PRL). 
 
PRL is a prestigious international journal in the field of physics and mathematics, which receives daily submissions from scholars around the world. And among those submissions, only one quarter of the articles can be selected for publication, and only one in seven of them can be selected as Editors' Suggestions, which is a recognition of the quality of the content and is therefore highly respected among scholars. 
 
Luke Smith, the Assistant Research Professor of the Center for Quantum Frontiers of Research & Technology,  is the first author of the rewarded paper 〈Electrically Controlling the Kondo Effect〉. He and his research team at NCKU have demonstrated an all-electrical approach to controlling the Kondo effect, which will lead to a better understanding of spin-based quantum computers that generate spin-electron interactions. The results will facilitate a better understanding of spin-based quantum computers that generate spin-electron interactions, improve the understanding of the performance of the components, and inspire researchers to think about subsequent applications.
 
In the 1930s, scientists discovered that the resistance of alloys doped with magnetic impurities decreases as the temperature decreases, but once a critical temperature (Kondo temperature) is exceeded, the resistance of this alloy increases. In 1963, Japanese scientist Jun Kondo proposed a theory of quantum interaction to explain the cause of the effect, and the phenomenon became known as the "Kondo effect".
 
Using this property, Luke has demonstrated that the peak position of the Kondo effect can be controlled in an all-electric manner by combining materials with Spin-orbit-coupled system properties, avoiding excessive interference of magnetic fields on precision components, achieving flexible use of material conductivity, and increasing the options of manipulating components for more experimental transformations in electrical engineering. Luke's ingenious combination of the properties of quantum components and the use of spin-orbit interactions to achieve "all-electric" control of the Kondo effect is the innovation and breakthrough of this research.
 
To do this, researchers need to fully understand what materials produce "spin-orbit interactions," and the properties of many innovative materials have only been validated over the last decade. "And even when the experiments are done, they are still subject to questioning," Luke said. Luke said that in the academic world, in addition to experimental proof, there is also a need for theoretical support to convince the public. Therefore, Luke collaborated with Hong Bin Chen, an assistant professor in the Department of Engineering Science at NCKU, and combined with his computational skills to provide a perfect interpretation of the research experiment and prove that the all-electric control of the Kondo effect is feasible.
 
Luke joined NCKU's Center for Frontier Quantum Science and Technology (QFort) in August 2021 through the NCKU 90 and Beyond Incubation Program, and only officially arrived in November due to the epidemic. The PRL publication is due to Luke's understanding of material properties and ingenuity in designing experiments, as well as his long-standing friendship with NCKU professors. During his master's degree at Oxford University, he received a 3-year scholarship with honors and conducted research on the photothermal deflection of thin membranes. After graduating with a master's degree, he pursued a PhD in physics at the University of Cambridge, where he authored three international symposium papers and a PhD thesis, which were presented at international symposia.
 
While studying for his PhD at Cambridge University, Luke met Professor Tse Ming Chen of the Department of Physics of NCKU, who was also a PhD student at Cambridge at the time. After Luke became a postdoctoral researcher at Cambridge and Professor Chen returned to Taiwan, the two of them engaged in a cross-sea academic collaboration between Taiwan and the UK. In 2017, Luke was invited by Prof. Tse Ming Chen to collaborate on 2D materials and spintronics research at National Cheng Kung University. Not only did the tacit understanding between the two of them allow the research to proceed smoothly, but Luke also felt the beauty of Taiwan's weather, food, and environment and was inspired to develop his career in Taiwan. Although he returned to Cambridge University to do research after only one year, Luke worked hard to learn Chinese and continued his studies after returning to his country to maintain his language sense in order to return to Taiwan someday.
 
Speaking of his trip across the ocean, Luke says that although his parents are British, he was actually born in Africa and returned to England when he was six years old, which allowed him to develop a different view of the world and not set limits on himself. Luke believes that going to another country allows him to learn and inspire creativity by understanding how different cultures think. Despite visiting Japan, Korea, Australia, and Europe during his many international conferences, he still loves Taiwan, so when NCKU's 90 and beyond incubation program began in 2020, he did not hesitate to apply and come to Taiwan to work with his partner, Professor Tse Ming Chen.
 
Luke said that when he came to Taiwan back in 2017, he found that he liked the environment very much. In addition, he believes that NCKU is a top-notch research school with a good environment, and the students in Tse Ming Chen's lab are smart and hardworking, as well as spontaneous in their research. Through the NCKU 90 and Beyond program, Luke has not only revisited the area, but has also continued to work with a team of students and faculty members he has worked with for a long time.
 
"This project is like a bridge that allows me to realize my plans," said Luke. In the future, he plans to build a research team in Taiwan to focus on solving the challenges of 2D materials in computing, including the scalability of 2D materials process equipment, leveraging the advantages of 2D components and understanding their operational and quantum properties for subsequent application in more electrical engineering-related industries, so that the research can be truly realized.

With funding support from the Ministry of Education's Higher Education Advancement Program, the NCKU 90 and Beyond Incubation Program has been launched since 2019. By recruiting outstanding overseas PhD scholars in different fields to teach or conduct research at NCKU, it will not only enhance the overall R&D capacity of the campus and the comprehensive reputation of NCKU in the international arena, but also enable scholars to devote themselves to their research work in a financially secure situation, creating a win-win situation for both parties.
 

Luke Smith, the Assistant Research Professor of the NCKU 90 and Beyond program.

The research result of Hong-Bin Chen and Luke Smith was published on PRL.

Hong-Bin Chen and Luke Smith discussing on their research.

Lithuanian Delegation Visits the NCKU College of Science to Strengthen Research Exchanges in Optics and Biomedicine

SDG9Lithuanian Delegation Visits the NCKU College of Science to Strengthen Research Exchanges in Optics and Biomedicine

View more
Hsia Yu-Xin won Japan's 30th Satellite Design Contest.

SDG9Hsia Yu-Xin won Japan's 30th Satellite Design Contest.

View more
NCKU interdisciplinary team won the Diamond Award in the Applied Category of the Macronix Golden Silicon Award.

SDG9NCKU interdisciplinary team won the Diamond Award in the Applied Category of the Macronix Golden Silicon Award.

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

No.1, University Road, Tainan City 701, Taiwan (R.O.C)

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。

【年輕學者】成大 90 and beyond 計畫 學者路克史密斯  研究成果登國際期刊 PRL-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

【年輕學者】成大 90 and beyond 計畫 學者路克史密斯  研究成果登國際期刊 PRL

SDG9

【年輕學者】成大 90 and beyond 計畫 學者路克史密斯  研究成果登國際期刊 PRL

Synergy Correlation

成大新進學人傳捷報!國立成功大學「NCKU 90 and Beyond」培育計畫助理研究教授路克.史密斯(Luke Smith)2021 年 11 月甫到成大即以第一作者發表文章,內容為藉由產生自旋軌道交互作用,進而達到全電性控制近藤效應的實驗結果,結合理論加以實證,獲刊「物理評論快報」(Physical Review Letters,簡稱PRL)。
 
PRL 為物理與數學領域享譽盛名的國際級期刊,每天湧進全世界學者的投稿,競爭激烈且審查嚴謹,僅四分之一的文章能獲選刊登,其中,又僅有七分之一的機率能入選為「編輯精選」(Editors’ Suggestion),能被刊登即是對於內容質量的肯定,因此在學者之間獲得高度推崇。
 
成大前沿量子科技研究中心助理研究教授路克.史密斯是獲刊文章〈Electrically Controlling the Kondo Effect〉的第一作者,他與成大研究團隊展示了全電性控制近藤效應的方法,此結果將有利於人類對產生自旋電子交互作用的元件與量子電腦(spin-based quantum computer)有更高的掌握度、提升對元件效能的認知,並且啟發研究人員對於後續應用的想法。
 
1930 年代科學家發現摻雜磁性雜質的合金會隨著溫度下降電阻越小,但一旦超過某一臨界溫度(近藤溫度),此種合金的電阻反而會增加,日本科學家近藤淳於 1963 年提出產生該效應的量子交互作用理論,解釋發生的原因,而這種現象也因此被稱作「近藤效應」。
 
路克便利用這項特性,結合帶有「自旋軌道交互作用」(Spin-orbit-coupled system)特性的材料,證實能透過全電性的方式對近藤效應的峰值位置加以控制,避免磁場對精密元件的過多干擾,達到材料導電的靈活運用,也能增加更多操控元件的選項,做更多電子工程實驗上的變換。路克巧妙結合量子元件的諸多特性,利用自旋軌道交互作用,進而達到「全電性」的控制近藤效應,正是這項研究的創新與突破之處。
 
為此,研究者需要充分了解何種材料會產生「自旋軌道交互作用」,而許多創新材料的特質又是在近 10 年才逐漸被驗證,若非長期且深入的研究,無法有這項建樹。「而且,就算實驗已經做出來,還是會面臨質疑。」路克說,在學術界裡,除了靠實驗證明,還需要有理論佐證才能服眾,因此路克與成大工科系助理教授陳宏斌合作,結合陳宏斌教授的運算能力,讓研究實驗有完美詮釋,證明全電性控制近藤效應是可行的。
 
路克透過 NCKU 90 and Beyond 培育計畫於2021年8月加入成大前沿量子科技研究中心(QFort),因疫情關係,11 月才正式到校。而能獲得 PRL 刊登,除了歸功於路克對於材料特性的了解與設計實驗的巧思、深耕研究領域的長期累積,路克與成大教授之間的深厚友誼也扮演了重要的角色。
 
路克大學與碩士皆是主修電機工程,在牛津大學攻讀碩士學位期間以優異成績取得 3 年的獎學金,並執行薄膜的光熱偏轉效應(photothermal deflection of thin membranes)研究,碩士畢業後則在劍橋大學攻讀物理博士學位,期間共主筆 3 篇國際研討會論文與博士論文,並發表於國際研討會。
 
在劍橋大學就讀博士時,路克結識了當時同在劍橋念博士的成大物理系陳則銘教授,待路克成為劍橋的博士後研究員,而陳教授返回台灣,兩人則進行台灣與英國之間的跨海學術合作。2017 年,路克曾應陳則銘教授之邀到成大合作二維材料與自旋電子學的研究,不僅因為兩人的默契讓研究可以順利推展,同時路克也充分感受到台灣天氣、美食與環境的美好,萌生在臺灣發展的念頭。儘管當時只待了短短 1 年就返回劍橋大學做研究,但路克還是努力學中文,並在回國後持續進修,維持語感,就為了未來有一天能重返臺灣。
提起他此次遠渡重洋而來,路克說,儘管他父母皆是英國人,但他實際上是在非洲出生,6 歲時才回到英國,也因此讓他建立了不同的世界觀而不會自我設限。路克認為,到另一個國家能認識不同文化的思考,進而從中學習、激發創意。儘管在多次參加國際研討會中曾造訪日本、韓國、澳洲與歐洲等地,但繞了一圈仍舊鍾情於臺灣,因而在 2020 年成大展開了 NCKU 90 and beyond 培育計畫時,毫不猶豫地提出申請,來到臺灣與好搭檔陳則銘教授一起工作。
 
路克說,早在 2017 年來台灣,就發現自己很喜歡台灣的環境,此外,他認為成功大學是一所研究頂尖、環境優良的學校,而陳則銘實驗室裡的學生除了聰明與努力,也對研究自動自發,因為與陳則銘教授建立良好合作關係,使成大成為不二之選。透過 NCKU 90 and Beyond 計畫,路克不只重新踏上這片土地,更與共事已久的師生團隊延續合作。
 
路克說:「這項計畫就像是一道橋樑,讓我能實現我的計畫。」未來,他計畫在台灣深耕,建立研究團隊,專注於解決二維材料(2D materials)於運算中面臨的挑戰,包括二維材料製程設備的可擴展性、善用二維元件優勢並了解其操作與量子特性,以利後續能被應用到更多電子工程相關產業之中,讓研究能真正落實。
 
在教育部高教深耕計畫的經費支持下,NCKU 90 and Beyond 培育計畫自2019 年啟動,透過招募不同領域的海外優秀博士級學者到成大任教或從事研究工作,不僅能提升校園整體的研發量能與成大在國際上的綜合聲譽,亦能使學者在經濟狀態無虞的狀態下,全心投入研究工作中,創造雙贏。

維護單位: 新聞中心
更新日期: 2022-03-07
 

成大「NCKU 90 and Beyond」計畫研究助理教授路克.史密斯(Luke Smith)

成功大學工科系助理教授陳宏斌(左)與成大助理研究教授路克史密斯(右)一同合作的研究成果登上國際期刊PRL

陳宏斌老師與Luke老師專注討論研究

成大鍾昇恆團隊跨域材料及土木合作研發 大幅提升鋰硫電池電極性能

SDG9成大鍾昇恆團隊跨域材料及土木合作研發 大幅提升鋰硫電池電極性能

View more
成功大學兩節式混合火箭 於旭海科研火箭發射場成功發射

SDG9成功大學兩節式混合火箭 於旭海科研火箭發射場成功發射

View more
運算藏行 智慧顯光 廣達─成大聯合 AI 研究中心點燈啟用

SDG9運算藏行 智慧顯光 廣達─成大聯合 AI 研究中心點燈啟用

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

701 臺南市東區大學路1號 雲平大樓西棟7樓

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。