FSE And NCKU Hold a Tree-Planting Ceremony to Celebrate Friendship and Deepen Talent Exchange Between The US and Taiwan-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

FSE And NCKU Hold a Tree-Planting Ceremony to Celebrate Friendship and Deepen Talent Exchange Between The US and Taiwan

SDG4

FSE And NCKU Hold a Tree-Planting Ceremony to Celebrate Friendship and Deepen Talent Exchange Between The US and Taiwan

Synergy Correlation

 

Written by Lin Yun-Mao. Image credit to News Center.
On October 26, National Cheng Kung University (NCKU) and Fulbright Taiwan (FSE) held a tree-planting ceremony near Jingpo Gate (or“lesser west gate”, 小西門). In addition to symbolizing the long-standing friendship between both parties, the ceremony also marked the launch of the Mandarin-Taught Master’s Degree Program Award in History. By cofinancing this program, NCKU and FSE hope to encourage American students to pursue a master's degree in Mandarin-Taught and History at NCKU, strengthening the talent exchange between the two countries.
 
The distinguished guests included NCKU's Executive Vice President Su Fong-Chin, the Vice President for International Affairs Hsiao-Wen Wang, the Vice President of the Office of General Affairs Yao, George-C, the head of the History department Wen-Sung Chen, FSE Taiwan's Executive Director Randall L. Nadeau, and the professor of the Economics Department Yi-Chi Chen, who was once received the Fulbright Research Award. Chen was also an initiator of the ceremony and successfully invited the honored guests to plant a Taiwan Ebony tree together to symbolize NCKU and FSE's long-standing friendship.

Taiwan Ebony is a native plant of Taiwan that grows in the southern part of the country. As well as being one of the valuable woods, it has been planted in NCKU's campus for many years. This kind of tree blooms from March to May and bears edible fruit in September and thus contributing to the campus's sustainable ecosystem.
 
NCKU's Executive Vice President Su spoke at the ceremony about the university's cooperation with FSE. NCKU had its first Fulbright Scholar in 1959, and its first Fulbright Student in 1962. To date, 55 NCKU scholars have been given the opportunity to visit the U.S. through the Fulbright program, which has broadened their horizon and helped them understand global mobility, as well as allowing them to pass and share the experience with students and Tainan residents.
 
He also believed the ceremony holds many future expectations, including NCKU would welcome more Fulbrighters to study in fields such as energy engineering and creative industry design, as well as fostering more international cultural exchanges between Taiwanese and American students. The tree planted also contained a special meaning because Taiwan Ebony symbolized home to Amis, one of Taiwan's aboriginal tribes, so planting one also showed NCKU's attempt to make itself a foreign home for the FSE and future Fulbrighters.

FSE Executive Director Randall Nadeau mentioned that when he came to Taiwan 40 years ago, he visited NCKU to see the famous Banyan Trees. Now, he was back to plant one himself, which brought him a great deal of joy. A tree planting ceremony, he explained, was both environmentally friendly and would foster a sense of community. "This partnership will continue to grow; it will be vigorous, fruitful, and able to withstand challenges," he concluded. In closing, he reiterated that he was looking forward to the collaboration being productive, and invited NCKU scholars to become Fulbright scholars in the United States.

According to Yi-Chi Chen, a professor at the Department of Economics, the ceremony was held in the right place at the right time despite the COVID -19 pandemic. In his speech, he mentioned Fulbright Taiwan's vision, "A world with a little more knowledge and a little less conflict." and used the Jingpo Gate as an example to express that the tree would remind us that the power of knowledge can eliminate conflict.
 
The Chair of the History Department Wen-Sung Chen talked about Dr. Nadeau's semester teaching at the department in 2011, which led to the possibility of cooperation. Moreover, he expressed gratitude to Fulbright for opening up the humanities award plan with NCKU so that his department could welcome American students next year. Following that, he shared the story of Taiwan Ebony and Tainan local writer. Furthermore, he envisioned this tree as a potential new destination for Exploring Tainan students.

NCKU launched two award programs with FSE: NCKU Master's Degree Program Award in Creative Industries Design in 2014, and NCKU Master's Degree Program Award in Energy Engineering in 2019. Both programs attracted an impressive number of applicants. A further two cooperation programs have been launched by NCKU to attract excellent American students, and the subsidy places have been increased from two to eight since 2020. Also, in 2021, FSE and NCKU signed the “Consortium for Study Abroad in Taiwan (CSAT)” MOU, allowing American undergraduates to study in NCKU for one semester.
 
The Mandarin-Taught Master's Degree Program Award in History is the third award created by FSE and NCKU. As part of the program, the recipient will study one year of intensive Chinese courses to prepare for this two-year master's degree program taught in Chinese. For the American recipient of the award, full tuition support will be provided. They will, however, need to be English Language Assistants and interns at the NCKU Museum to better understand the subject matter. The program and training should give award-winning students the opportunity to acquire world-class education and research opportunities, as well as professional Mandarin teaching skills that will make them more competitive in the workplace. For NCKU, their English proficiency can be used to enhance the English proficiency of local students so that they can respond to the 2030 bilingual policy and increase Taiwan-US talent exchange opportunities.

FSE and NCKU representatives planted a Taiwan Ebony tree near the Jingpo Gate on October 26 to express the expectation of a productive partnership.

NCKU and FSE celebrated the long and steady partnership with the tree-planting ceremony.

This tree-planting ceremony represented the partnership between both sides would grow strong and fruitful just like a tree, explained Dr. Randall Nadeau, the Executive Director of FSE.

The interpretive sign told the spirit of FSE.

NCKU's Executive Vice President Fong-Chin Su (the right) presented the FSE Executive Director Dr. Nadeau with the NCKU 90th Anniversary Matsu Kaoliang Liquor.

Group photo featuring faculty from Office of International Affairs and History Department, and Fulbright Study Award awardees as Master of Ceremony in front of Jingpo Gate.

NCKU and Highest Good Education Foundation Sign Second Phase Sinology Program Contract.

SDG4NCKU and Highest Good Education Foundation Sign Second Phase Sinology Program Contract.

View more
NCKU Collaborates with Taiwan Institute of Sports Science to Cultivate Key Talent in Sports Technology.

SDG4NCKU Collaborates with Taiwan Institute of Sports Science to Cultivate Key Talent in Sports Technology.

View more
NCKU and NTJCN strategic alliance aims to thrive and contribute to the city and country

SDG4NCKU and NTJCN strategic alliance aims to thrive and contribute to the city and country

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

No.1, University Road, Tainan City 701, Taiwan (R.O.C)

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。

成大與學術交流基金會友誼長久 齊力植樹深耕臺美人才交流-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

成大與學術交流基金會友誼長久 齊力植樹深耕臺美人才交流

SDG4

成大與學術交流基金會友誼長久 齊力植樹深耕臺美人才交流

Synergy Correlation

 

文/陳意安 圖/成大新聞中心
國立成功大學與學術交流基金會(Fulbright Taiwan)10 月 26 日下午於校內古蹟小西門城門旁舉辦植樹典禮,象徵雙方友誼長久延續,並宣布啟動第三個碩士學位學程合作,成大與學術交流基金會將共同獎助美籍學子至成大修讀華語並攻讀歷史碩士學位,期能鞏固臺美人才交流。
 
現場貴賓包含成大副校長蘇芳慶、學術交流基金會執行長那原道(Dr. Randall L. Nadeau, Executive Director)、成大國際長王筱雯、成大總務長姚昭智、成大歷史系系主任陳文松、傅爾布萊特學人暨植樹倡議發起人之一成大經濟系教授陳奕奇共同植樹,象徵雙方友誼締結深耕。
此次種植的樹木為臺灣南部原生植物「毛柿」,該物種是行政院農業委員會公告貴重木之一,也是成大的老樹,每年 3 至 5 月開花,9 月結果,果實可食用,對校園永續生態系非常友善。
 
在植樹典禮上,成大副校長蘇芳慶首先回顧成大與學術交流基金會之合作歷程,於 1959 年誕生第一位成大傅爾布萊特學人,1962 年誕生第一位成大傅爾布萊特學生,歷年來學術交流基金會已支持達 55 位成大傅爾布萊特學人訪美,擴展國際視野並延續及傳承國際移動經驗,融入在地社群。
 
蘇芳慶副校長認為這次植樹對雙方都別具意義,不只象徵未來將有更多菁英學子到成大的工程製造、能源、創意產業設計等學科系所發展,也將有更多機會促進雙方學生的文化交流。毛柿在阿美族部落又象徵「家」的意涵,也是成大的老樹,今日成大與學術交流基金會共同種植毛柿,希望學術交流基金會及來訪美國學生,將成大視為遠方的家。

學術交流基金會執行長那原道分享自己 40 年前第一次來台灣,曾經到成大欣賞榕樹,而今天能再次到成大,並在景色宜人的地點植樹,他滿懷感謝。那原道表示自己熱愛植樹,不僅因為對自然友善也能增加人情溫暖,他也認為這次植樹象徵著成大與學術交流基金會之間的夥伴關係將如大樹茁壯一樣,「根部越來越紮實,樹葉越來越繁茂,任憑風吹雨打都無法動搖。」最後他期待與成大未來合作成果豐碩,並歡迎成大的學生、師長申請傅爾布萊特計畫至美國學習與研究。

傅爾布萊特學人、成大經濟系教授陳奕奇表示此次植樹活動「天時地利人和」,雖因疫情停擺一次,但最終還是順利舉行。他指出學術交流基金會成立的願景就是「為世界帶來多一點知識,少一點衝突」。他以過去小西門從原址遷移到成大的過程為例,說明未來這一棵樹將能永遠提醒人們利用知識來減少衝突。
 
成大歷史系主任陳文松分享學術交流基金會執行長那原道曾在成大歷史系擔任客座教授,也因為這個機緣,跟學術交流基金會有密切來往。他指出明年開始就會有美國留學生到歷史系修讀,非常感謝傅爾布萊特與成大展開人文領域的合作。隨後他分享毛柿與台南在地作家的故事,並表示此樹未來將可成為學生參與踏溯台南課程時不可錯過的景點。

成大在 2014 年及 2019 年,分別於「創意產業設計研究所」及「能源工程國際碩士學位學程」啟動傅爾布萊特獎學金專案計畫,獲得學生正面回應。為了鼓勵更多優秀美國學生前來就讀,成大順利爭取增加兩項合作項目補助名額,並於 2020 年起補助名額由原先共 2 名增至共 8 名。此外,成大於 2021 年與學術交流基金會簽署「臺美高教聯盟(CSAT)交流合作協議」,支持美國大學學子按照自己主修學系的課程需求,申請來成大進行交流學習。
 
此次宣布新展開的合作為成大與學術交流基金會第三個合作的碩士學程項目。將由成大與學術交流基金會共同獎助 1 名優秀美籍學生攻讀全中文授課之歷史碩士學位,並先修華語一年。除優渥獎學金補助,獲獎生也須於就學期間擔任英文助理及協助文物典藏陳列室等歷史相關領域實習。期待藉此支持美國年輕學子獲得世界級教育及研究機會、培養華語專業以利未來職涯發展,同時借重受獎美籍學生的英文能力加強本校學生外語能力,響應 2030 雙語國家政策,增加臺美雙方未來交流契機。
 
維護單位: 新聞中心
更新日期: 2022-10-26

10月26日國立成功大學與學術交流基金會代表共同於小西門前種植毛柿,期待合作成果結實纍纍

現場貴賓動鏟植樹見證成大與學術交流基金會合作永續

學術交流基金會執行長那原道(Dr. Randall L. Nadeau, Executive Director)這次植樹象徵成大與學術交流基金會的夥伴關係如大樹茁壯

樹前告示牌揭示學術交流基金會的精神

成大副校長蘇芳慶(右)致贈學術交流基金會執行長那原道成大 90 周年紀念酒

成大國際處、成大歷史系師長與職員以及擔任司儀的傅爾布萊特獲獎學生一同於小西門前合影

合作力、溝通力與應變力深獲肯定 2024企業最愛及大學品牌力評比 成大連奪四冠軍

SDG4合作力、溝通力與應變力深獲肯定 2024企業最愛及大學品牌力評比 成大連奪四冠軍

View more
成大臺灣學「從Formosa 航向東亞 ( 四 )」成果展 多元形式體驗臺灣早期歷史

SDG4成大臺灣學「從Formosa 航向東亞 ( 四 )」成果展 多元形式體驗臺灣早期歷史

View more
成功大學X潮州高中科學營 結合科學教育與原民文化知識受歡迎

SDG4成功大學X潮州高中科學營 結合科學教育與原民文化知識受歡迎

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

701 臺南市東區大學路1號 雲平大樓西棟7樓

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。