"Solving the Three Ozone Puzzles: Predicting Concentration Changes with 90% Accuracy" , is listed in a Top International Journal-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

"Solving the Three Ozone Puzzles: Predicting Concentration Changes with 90% Accuracy" , is listed in a Top International Journal

SDG11

"Solving the Three Ozone Puzzles: Predicting Concentration Changes with 90% Accuracy" , is listed in a Top International Journal

Synergy Correlation

What do you know about "Ozone"? In addition to the ozone layer in the upper layers of the earth's surface, the mysterious "ozone pollution" has been infiltrating our daily life. The team of Associate Professor Chih-Da Wu from the Department of Geomatics,NCKU, will help you to solve the three mysteries of ozone through the Ensemble Mixed Spatial Prediction Model: the closer to the suburbs, the denser the ozone pollution is? Why does ozone like to stop in the suburbs, and what is the relationship between COVID-19 and ozone pollution?

The team of Associate Professor Chih-Da Wu from the Department of Geomatics, NCKU, cooperated with the Distinguished Investigator and Director, Pau-Chung Chen, and the Associate Researcher, Yu-Cheng Chen, both from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences. The Research Fellow and Deputy Director of Research Center for Environmental Change, Academia Sinica, Lung, Shih-Chun, and the Distinguished Professor Yu-Leon Guo from the Institute of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences, National Taiwan University were also in the project. The team has developed the "Ensemble Mixed Spatial Prediction Model" with 92% accuracy for regional ozone concentration change by integrating various important Geo-AI techniques, such as Kriging Spatial Interpolation and land use regression, into the contemporary hot "Mechanical Learning and Integrated Learning Artificial Intelligence algorithms". The "Ensemble Mixed Spatial Prediction Model" was successfully published in the top international journal "Journal of Hazardous Materials" of Impact Factor=14.22.

According to Chih-Da Wu, they used more than 1.8 million air pollution monitoring data from the Environmental Protection Administration (EPA) from 2000 to 2020, and used the above spatial estimation method to complete the "ozone pollution estimation model" for more than 600 land use/environmental/meteorological/topographic factors. The long-term spatial and temporal variations of daily, daytime, nighttime, and maximum eight-hour average ozone pollution concentrations in Taiwan have been simulated with a resolution of 50m×50m grid, and the accuracy of the prediction of ozone concentration changes in various regions of Taiwan is as high as 90%!

The mysteries of the ozone were solved one by one with professional methodology

In the past, Associate Professor Chih-Da Wu has been actively involved in the 10-year research program of the Environmental Protection Administration and the National Health Research Institute , and has contributed to the air quality of Taiwan with his professional methodology. In recent years, the sources and negative effects of ozone emissions have gradually caught international attention and become a hot topic of global concern, which soon attracted his attention and inspired this research.

Ozone is a secondary pollutant that is not directly emitted from the source, but is generated through the photolysis of precursors such as nitrogen oxides and volatile organic compounds. Moreover, most of the ozone hotspots are scattered in suburban areas far away from the emission sources, and it is very difficult to track their sources. In order to eradicate the dilemma of tracking ozone in the future,Chih-Da Wu decided to solve the mysterious mystery of ozone "no trace" through a year of complete and in-depth research time.

Ozone mystery part.1: The closer to the suburbs, the denser the Ozone pollution is?

A.P. Chih-Da Wu mentioned that there are 76 air quality monitoring stations in Taiwan, among them, only 4 are in Tainan, which is a small amount of research data and cannot track the ozone footprint more accurately. However, the birth of the "Ensemble Mixed Spatial Prediction Model" can estimate the ozone distribution through data, alleviating the problems of difficult station construction and maintenance, leaving valuable resources for monitoring ozone distribution and mastering air quality changes in counties and cities in the future. 

The ozone hot spots in Tainan are mainly located in Anping, Shanshan, Nanhua, Guanmiao, Zuozhen, etc. Among them, Anping is the only area close to the city center. A.P. Wu has concluded that the industrial area in Anping provides more nitrogen oxides and volatile organic compounds, which become the source of ozone. And the undulating terrain makes the biological VOCs more likely to accumulate, which is also one of the reasons why Anping has become an ozone hot spot. 

Ozone mystery part.2: Why does Ozone like to stop in the suburbs?

In Tainan Shanshan, Nanhua, Guanmiao, Zuozhen and other more suburban areas, there are many forests, agriculture and other vegetation areas, these green plants may produce more biological volatile organic compounds, coupled with sufficient sunlight, nitrogen oxides, the natural formation of ozone hot spot, given that there are many well-known tourist attractions, there is a greater need for the relevant units to monitor and pay attention to ozone pollution, in order to better enhance the air quality of national travel, health protection.

Ozone mystery part.3: What is the relationship between COVID-19 and Ozone pollution?

As the research process coincided with the COVID-19 Level 3 Alert, Associate Professor Wu's team was inspired to create a visual simulation of the ozone hotspot data before and after the alert. They found significant changes in the data before and after the alert in Taipei City, the city with the highest concentration of traffic air pollution emissions. As the number of people and vehicles decreased during the alert period, the number of ozone-generating nitrogen oxides and volatile organic compounds naturally decreased, resulting in a decrease in the overall ozone value, forming a magical indicator of a significant decrease in ozone pollution data before and after the epidemic.

From their Geomatics profession, they interdisciplinarily promote the academic brand of NCKU.

Associate Professor Wu hopes that this research will produce a greater impact. In the future, he would like to conduct more and richer science popularization, lectures, and even cooperate with the Environmental Protection Administration and the Health Promotion Administration to conduct more intensive advocacy and academic sharing. What's more, he was invited to present the results of this study at the Technology Forum on  Environmental Remote Sensing and Health Effects of the National Science and Technology Council on March 23, 2023.

The successful publication of the "Ensemble Mixed Spatial Prediction Model" in the Journal of Hazardous Materials, a leading international journal, is not only a recognition of Associate Professor Chih-Da Wu's deep academic commitment, but also an excellent opportunity for the public to see the interdisciplinary and multiple development possibilities of the Department of Geomatics at NCKU. In the future, Associate Professor Chih-Da Wu will continue to develop his expertise in the field of air pollution and work together with government agencies to contribute to the future of air products in Taiwan and to make the academic strength of NCKU be seen by the whole world.

Chih-Da, Wu
https://www.scopus.com/authid/detail.uri?authorId=8449024900

A Geo-AI-based ensemble mixed spatial prediction model with fine spatial-temporal resolution for estimating daytime/nighttime/daily average ozone concentrations variations in Taiwan. Babaan, J., Hsu, F.-T., Wong, P.-Y., ...Chen, Y.-C., Wu, C.-D. Journal of Hazardous Materials, 2023, 446, 130749 

 

Chih-Da Wu's team solves the ozone puzzle through an "Ensemble Mixed Spatial Prediction Model"

"Ensemble Mixed Spatial Prediction Model" Designed by Chih-Da Wu, an Associate Professor from the Department of Geomatics, NCKU, is listed in a Top International Journal

The accuracy of Chih-Da Wu's team's prediction of ozone concentration changes in various regions of Taiwan is as high as 90%.

In recent years, the sources and negative effects of ozone emissions have been gaining attention, which has led to the research inspiration of Associate Professor Chih-Da Wu of the Department of Geomatics, NCKU.

Taiwan Comprehensive University System Launches 'Island Chain, Thought' Strategy Alliance Project – Reading Session Takes Place

SDG11Taiwan Comprehensive University System Launches 'Island Chain, Thought' Strategy Alliance Project – Reading Session Takes Place

View more
NCKU Matsu Micro-College Launches Inaugural Event – Design Co-creation Workshop

SDG11NCKU Matsu Micro-College Launches Inaugural Event – Design Co-creation Workshop

View more
V-10 Five Individuals @ Tainan exhibited their work at the Tainan Photography Exhibition hosted by NCKU

SDG11V-10 Five Individuals @ Tainan exhibited their work at the Tainan Photography Exhibition hosted by NCKU

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

No.1, University Road, Tainan City 701, Taiwan (R.O.C)

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。

解開臭氧三大謎題 預測濃度變化準確高於90%  成大測量系吳治達副教授「集成混合空間推估模型」榮登國際頂尖期刊-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

解開臭氧三大謎題 預測濃度變化準確高於90%  成大測量系吳治達副教授「集成混合空間推估模型」榮登國際頂尖期刊

SDG11

解開臭氧三大謎題 預測濃度變化準確高於90%  成大測量系吳治達副教授「集成混合空間推估模型」榮登國際頂尖期刊

Synergy Correlation

文/周欣儒 圖/陳正明
 
關於「臭氧」你了解多少?除了地表高層遮蔽紫外線的臭氧層,神秘的「臭氧污染」早已無孔不入的滲入日常中。國立成功大學測量及空間資訊學系吳治達副教授團隊,透過「集成混合空間推估模型」為你解開臭氧的三大謎題:越近郊區臭氧污染越密集?臭氧為何最愛停在郊區?COVID-19 與臭氧污染有何關係?
 
國立成功大學測量及空間資訊學系吳治達副教授團隊,與國家衛生研究院國家環境醫學研究所陳保中特聘研究員兼所長、陳裕政副研究員,中研院環境變遷研究中心龍世俊研究員兼副主任,國立臺灣大學環境與職業健康科學研究所郭育良特聘教授共同合作,集合多種重要的地理人工智慧(Geo-AI)技術,如:克利金空間內插、土地利用迴歸,融入當代火熱的「機械學習及集成學習人工智慧演算法」,以更精準、創新的研究手法出發,發展出對區域臭氧濃度變化,有高達92%的準確度的「集成混合空間推估模型(Ensemble Mixed Spatial Prediction Model)」,並成功登上Impact Factor=14.22的國際頂尖期刊 Journal of Hazardous Materials。
 
吳治達副教授表示,他們使用了 2000 年至 2020 年,環保署約 180 多萬筆空污監測數據,以上述空間推估方法,針對 600 餘個土地利用/環境/氣象/地形等影響因子,完成「臭氧污染的推估模型建置」,在 50m×50m 網格解析度的情況下,模擬出台灣本島範圍自 2000 年迄今,每天臭氧污染之日平均、白天平均、晚上平均以及最大八小時平均濃度的長期時空變化狀況,對台灣各區域臭氧濃度變化的預測準確性高達九成! 
 
神秘臭氧之謎 用專業方法學逐次攻克
 
過去吳治達副教授積極投入環保署與國家衛生研究院十年科研計畫,運用專業之方法學為台灣空氣品質貢獻心血, 近年來臭氧(Ozone)的排放來源、負面影響逐漸躍上國際舞台,成為全球各界關注的火熱話題,也很快引起了他的注意,更因此激發出本次研究的靈感火花。
 
臭氧屬於二次污染物,非由污染源直接排放,而是透過氮氧化物及揮發性有機化合物等前趨物,經光解後才結合產生,且臭氧熱點大多散布在遠離排放源的郊區,非常不易掌握其來源,為了能在未來根除追蹤臭氧的困境,吳治達副教授決心透過一年完整且深入的研究時間,攻克臭氧「不見足跡」的神秘謎題。
 
臭氧解謎 part.1:越近郊越密集?
 
吳治達副教授提到,全台灣設有 76 個空氣品質監測站,台南地區總共有 4 個,以研究數據量而言偏少,沒辦法更準確地把握住臭氧足跡,而「集成混合空間推估模型」的誕生,可以透過數據推估出臭氧分布,減緩了測站建置困難、修護不易的問題,為未來監測臭氧分布、掌握縣市空品變化留下寶貴資源。
 
台南的臭氧熱區,主要分布在安平、山上、南化、關廟、左鎮…等區域,其中安平是唯一鄰近市中心的區域,吳治達副教授研判,安平工業區提供較多氮氧化物、揮發性有機化合物,成為臭氧的組成來源,且地形起伏讓生物性 VOC 堆積機率更高,也是安平成為臭氧熱區的原因之一。
 
臭氧解謎 part.2:臭氧為何最愛停在郊區?
 
而在台南山上、南化、關廟、左鎮等較為郊區的區域,區內多為森林、農業等植被地區,這些綠植可能產生更多生物性的揮發性有機化合物,加以具充足的陽光、氮氧化物,也就自然形成了臭氧熱區,有鑒於這裡有許多知名旅遊景點,也就更需要相關單位對臭氧污染的監測與關注,才能更好的提升國人出遊的空氣品質、健康保障。
 
臭氧解謎 part.3:COVID-19與臭氧污染有關係?
 
因應研究過程適逢新冠肺炎三級警戒,吳治達副教授團隊靈機一動,將警戒前後的臭氧熱區數據製成視覺化模擬圖,發現警戒前後,交通空汙排放物最密集的台北市,出現了顯著的數據改變。由於警戒期間人車減少,生成臭氧的氮氧化物、揮發性有機化合物自然也就跟著減少,整體臭氧數值下降,形成了疫情前後、臭氧污染數據明顯下降的神奇數據指標。
 
從測量系專業出發 跨領域推廣成大學術品牌
 
吳治達副教授期望這次研究產生更大的影響力,未來他想透過更多更豐富的科普、講座,甚至與環保署、國健署合作,進行更高強度的宣導與學術分享,並於3月23日受邀到行政院國科會環境遙測與健康效應科技論壇,發表本次研究的成果。
 
「集成混合空間推估模型(Ensemble Mixed Spatial Prediction Model)」,成功登上國際頂尖期刊 Journal of Hazardous Materials,不僅是對吳治達副教授深耕學術的肯定,也是讓各界看見成大測量系跨領域、多面向發展可能性的絕佳機會,未來吳治達副教授也將繼續在空汙領域發揮專業,與政府單位攜手合作,為台灣空品未來、使成大學術力登上國際舞台,貢獻一份心力。

吳治達 https://www.scopus.com/authid/detail.uri?authorId=8449024900
A Geo-AI-based ensemble mixed spatial prediction model with fine spatial-temporal resolution for estimating daytime/nighttime/daily average ozone concentrations variations in Taiwan. Babaan, J., Hsu, F.-T., Wong, P.-Y., ...Chen, Y.-C., Wu, C.-D. Journal of Hazardous Materials, 2023, 446, 130749  VIEW 
 
維護單位: 新聞中心
更新日期: 2023-03-22

國立成功大學測量及空間資訊學系吳治達副教授團隊,透過「集成混合空間推估模型」解開臭氧謎題

成大測量系吳治達副教授「集成混合空間推估模型」榮登國際頂尖期刊「Journal of Hazardous Materials」

國立成功大學測量及空間資訊學系對台灣各區域臭氧濃度變化的預測準確性高達九成

近年來臭氧(Ozone)的排放來源、負面影響逐漸受到關注,引起成大測量系吳治達副教授的研究靈感

巨大紅球現身成大未來館 「紅球平行展」即日起展到 4 月 10 日

SDG11巨大紅球現身成大未來館 「紅球平行展」即日起展到 4 月 10 日

View more
共感在地豐厚文史記憶 〈府城傳奇・戰火波瀾〉木偶戲成大演出

SDG11共感在地豐厚文史記憶 〈府城傳奇・戰火波瀾〉木偶戲成大演出

View more
第27屆國土規劃論壇 探討國土規劃淨零路徑與推動方向

SDG11第27屆國土規劃論壇 探討國土規劃淨零路徑與推動方向

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

701 臺南市東區大學路1號 雲平大樓西棟7樓

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。