“The light of island”sound and light translation of Matsu's imagery-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

“The Light of Island” Sound and Light Translation of Matsu's Imagery

SDG11

“The Light of Island” Sound and Light Translation of Matsu's Imagery

Synergy Correlation

The large-scale wooden installation art "The light of island" was jointly created by teachers and students of National Cheng Kung University's Master of Arts in Science and Technology. On the evening of January 6, 2022, it was exhibited in the open space on the north side of the wooden platform of the Department of Architecture, Kuang-Fu Campus Campus, National Cheng Kung University. It is a landscape installation art that allows viewers to freely show their gestures.
"The light of island" was directed by Assistant Professor Lin Xuan Cheng of the Institute of Science and Art of National Cheng Kung University, and was co-created by first-year master students Zhang Jing Yuan, Wu Yan Zhu, Liang Huai Xuan, Zhang Wan Yi, Chen Pin Chun, Chen Yu Ru, He Yun Xuan, Wu Si Ying, and other students. The work is inspired by the unique landscape, residential buildings and historical culture of Matsu Island.

"The light of island" is located between several buildings: the north is facing the Xiaodong Road fence, the east is the Metropolitan Department of Accounting Museum, the south is the wooden platform of the Department of Architecture and the library, and the west is a C-HUB creative base. At the same time, combining digital manufacturing, technology, and humanities issues, the work "The light of island" is expected to demonstrate the far-reaching influence between past and present human existence and Matsu Island through the interaction of sound and light.

According to the creation team, "The light of island", as an interactive installation art, its artistic value lies in the multiple possibilities brought about by the combination of humanistic issues and technology. First of all, the work discusses how spatial changes affect the diversity of interactive experience from the design of the placement and the appearance of the model. In the final result, it successfully increases the experience of cross-orthogonal artwork and deepens the perception of the participants. 

Second, in addition to using digital modeling and CNC cutting to complete the appearance of the work, they also used the high flexibility of programming language and combined with humanistic and historical texts to design corresponding lighting control signals. It gets rid of the limitations and constraints of traditional media and production methods and presenting A breakthrough in the concept and achievements of digital manufacturing and technology art.
 
Third, using simple technology to present rich and reflective local retrospectives and humanistic care in the works. Through the presentation of technology and art, while arousing viewers’ curiosity to explore and experience first-hand, it also improves people’s understanding of Matzuu. The cognition of the island strengthens the historical memory of the island, connects the common emotions among human beings, and prompts people to reflect on the relationship and influence between human existence and the island.
 
In addition, the creation team tried to use the translation of sound data and the flow of light to symbolize the existence of the island residents and the island itself, and the changes brought about by the Matsu Island, which have lasted for a hundred years and have not been noticed by future generations. "The light of island" adopts CNC cutting technology to complete the cross-orthogonal mountain-shaped structure and uses a novel construction system to shape the peaks and valleys. The body of the work retains the organic nature of the ups and downs of the mountains, but converges the edges with square straight lines, as if leaving an island model with four sides cut off.
 
The creation team hopes to present the unique dismantling and splicing of digital manufacturing in space through this method of anti-simulation of real natural scenery, leaving suspense, arousing the curiosity of the audience, and stimulating people's imagination of the complete appearance of the island.
 
A number of acrylic boxes are embedded on the model of wooden cross-orthogonal to present the residential buildings on the island, which is inspired by the traditional Indian architecture of Matsu Lie Island. The appearance of this traditional residential building is square, just like the seals are built according to the undulating terrain. In each staggered seal, interactive lighting is also embedded to create an interactive landscape effect.
 
The creation team used two types of induction lamps which are infrared induction lamps and running water lamps, and installed them depending on the appearance and characteristics of the lamps. The infrared sensor lights fixed in the grid will sense the movement of the human body or the shaking of natural objects (such as the leaves above the work) and emit light. The light will turn on when it senses the movement of the object, and will turn off naturally 30 seconds after the object leaves.
 
The creation team said that the soft yellow light was used to present the life atmosphere of the thousands of lights in the villages on the island, and the public could experience the centuries-old brilliance of the island in the process of experience. , the sense of historical iterativeness of washing the lead.
 
The running water lamps placed under the works capture the sound data that is the easiest to dissipate and the least difficult to retain, and convert it into colorful streamers. "We use Arduino to control the signal and set the sound threshold: when the surrounding is quiet, the running water lamp operates in the mode of breathing light, emitting blue light to present a sense of tranquility and healing. In the case of sensing human voice and music, the running water lights will change to a variety of colors according to the different beat values, presenting a lively and jubilant atmosphere. In the selection of changing lighting colors, we will choose the different characteristics of  Matsu, such as landforms, residential buildings, blue Tears, religious beliefs and other themes, and create a series of Matsu color tickets and set them as the changing colors of the running water lamps.”
 
Shen Yangting, deputy director of the Institute of Science and Art of Chengda University, said that the creation of large-scale installation art is one of the core courses and features of the National Cheng Kung University Science and Technology Art degree program. It can not only show the interdisciplinary creative advantages of physical construction, human-computer interaction, digital art and other fields of mutual integration, but also cultivate the soft power of teamwork and complex problem solving (Complex Problem Solving) in the process of implementation.
 
The Institute of Science and Arts will continue to cultivate "real and virtual space creative talents" with the ability to integrate science and technology through the subject-oriented learning of interactive installation art, and become the future in the environment, architecture, and even cities, using technology and art to create life aesthetics and innovation. 's living force.
 

“The light of island”creates interactive landscape installation art with images of Matsu mountains and seals.

“The light of island”is an interactive installation artwork that you can walk on.

The image of the traditional residential seal is transformed into an interactive landscape light grid.

Aquaman Talk & Sing Concert at NCKU Receives Rave Reviews

SDG11Aquaman Talk & Sing Concert at NCKU Receives Rave Reviews

View more
NCKU Library hosts a historical image rescue book exhibition.

SDG11NCKU Library hosts a historical image rescue book exhibition.

View more
Combining Technology and Art to Create New Artistic Vitality - NCKU Master Program on Techno Art's Students' Exhibition.

SDG11Combining Technology and Art to Create New Artistic Vitality - NCKU Master Program on Techno Art's Students' Exhibition.

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

No.1, University Road, Tainan City 701, Taiwan (R.O.C)

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。

「The light of island / 島。輝」聲光轉譯馬祖意象-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

「The light of island / 島。輝」聲光轉譯馬祖意象

SDG11

「The light of island / 島。輝」聲光轉譯馬祖意象

Synergy Correlation

文、圖/成大科藝所
 
國立成功大學科技藝術碩士學位學程師生共創大型木製裝置藝術「The light of island / 島。輝」1 月 6 日晚間在成大光復校區建築系館木平台北邊空地展出,作品強調與觀者互動,是一座可以讓觀者自由展現姿態的地景裝置藝術。
 
「The light of island / 島。輝」由成大科藝所林軒丞助理教授指導,碩士一年級張瀞元、吳彥嶔、梁懷萱、張琬旖、陳品淳、陳昱如、何芸瑄、吳思瑩等學生共同創作。作品靈感源自於馬祖列嶼獨特的地貌景觀、民居建築及與歷史文化。
 
「The light of island / 島。輝」作品夾處於多個建築設施之間:北面臨小東路圍牆、東面為都計系系館、南面則為建築系木平台與系圖書館、西面則有C-HUB創意基地。同時,結合數位製造、科技技術、人文議題,「The light of island / 島。輝」作品希望透過聲光互動,展現過去與現在人類存在與馬祖島嶼之間的深遠影響。
 
創作團隊表示,「The light of island / 島。輝」作為一件互動裝置藝術,其藝術價值在於人文議題與科技技術之結合所帶來的多重可能性。首先,作品從擺放位置及模型外觀的設計上討論了空間變化如何影響互動體驗之多元性,在最終成果上,成功增加了十字正交藝術品的體驗方式並深化了參與者所得到的感悟。
 
其二,除了選擇使用數位建模及 CNC 切割完成作品外觀外,利用程式語言的高度彈性,結合人文歷史文本,設計相應的燈光控制信號,擺脫了傳統媒材與製作方法的限制與束縛,呈現出數位製造與科技藝術在作品概念及成果上的突破。
 
其三,運用簡易的科技技術,在作品中呈現豐富而具有反思價值的在地回顧與人文關懷,藉由科技藝術的呈現,在引起觀者好奇探索並親身體驗的同時,提高人們的對於馬祖與島嶼的認知,強化關於島嶼的歷史記憶,並串聯起人類之間的共同情感,促使人們反思人類存在與島嶼之間的關係與影響。
 
此外,創作團隊試圖以聲音數據的轉譯與光的流轉,象徵島上居民與本島的我們之存在,對於馬祖島嶼帶來的,歷時百年而已不為後世所覺察的變化。「The light of island / 島。輝」採用CNC切割技術完成十字正交的山形結構,以新穎的構築系統型塑山巔與低谷。作品本體保留了山地起伏的有機性,卻以四方直線收斂邊緣,彷彿徒留下截斷了四邊的一片島嶼模型。
 
創作團隊希望透過此反模擬真實自然景物的方式,在空間上呈現數位製造特有的可拆解性與可拼接性,留下懸念,引起觀眾的好奇,並激發人們對於島嶼完整樣貌的想像力。
 
在木製十字正交構成的模型上嵌入了許多壓克力箱以呈現島嶼上的民居建築,其靈感來自於馬祖列嶼的傳統印式建築。此傳統民居建築之外觀方正,就如同一顆顆印章依地勢起伏建造而成。在每顆錯落的印章中,還配合互動燈具的嵌入創造可互動的地景效果。
 
採用紅外線感應燈與流水燈兩種感應燈具,創作團隊配合燈具的外觀與特性進行安裝。固定於格子內的紅外線感應燈將感測包括人體的移動或自然物(如作品上方之樹葉)之晃動並且發光。燈光將於感測到物體移動時發亮,物體離去後 30 秒自然熄滅。
 
創作團隊表示,選用柔和的黃光,以呈現島嶼上村落萬家燈火的生活氣息,民眾能從體驗的過程中,體會到島嶼積累百年光華中「人來燈燃,熱鬧非凡;人去燈滅,洗淨鉛華」的歷史迭代感。
 
鋪設於作品底下的流水燈則捕捉最容易消散也最不容易保留的聲音數據,並將之轉換為彩色之流光。「我們運用arduino進行訊號控制,並設置聲響臨界點:在周遭安靜的狀態下,流水燈以呼吸燈的模式運作,發出藍色的光,以呈現出靜謐、療愈之感;在偵測到人聲及音樂的情況下,流水燈將會根據節拍數值的不同而變換多種顏色,呈現熱鬧歡騰的氛圍。在變換燈光顏色的挑選上,我們將根據馬祖的不同特色,譬如地貌、民居建築、藍眼淚、宗教信仰等主題,建立一系列馬祖色票,並將之設置為流水燈的變換燈色。」
 
成大科藝所副主任沈揚庭表示,大型裝置藝術的創作是成大科技藝術學位學程的一大核心課程與特色展現。它不但能展現出實體構築、人機互動、數位藝術等領域相互整合的跨領域創作優勢,還能夠在實作的過程中培養同學團隊合作與複雜問題解決(Complex Problem Solving)的軟實力。
 
科藝所將持續透過互動裝置藝術這樣的專題導向學習,育成具備科技藝術整合能力的「實虛空間創作型人才」,成為未來在環境、建築、乃至城市中,應用科技藝術打造生活美學與創新的生力軍。
 
維護單位: 新聞中心
更新日期: 2022-01-07
 

「The light of island / 島。輝」用馬祖山巒與印章意象創造出互動的地景裝置藝術

「The light of island / 島。輝」是一座可以上去行走的互動裝置藝術

傳統民居印章意象轉成可互動的地景燈格

台南低碳城市會議成大登場 集結跨界量能推動永續人才培育

SDG11台南低碳城市會議成大登場 集結跨界量能推動永續人才培育

View more
成大惡地協作 USR 團隊偕同英國利物浦大學學者參訪台南左鎮 協力共創亮點成果

SDG11成大惡地協作 USR 團隊偕同英國利物浦大學學者參訪台南左鎮 協力共創亮點成果

View more
【USR 系列報導】惡地協作心共好 以新城鄉關係共箍惡地好人

SDG11【USR 系列報導】惡地協作心共好 以新城鄉關係共箍惡地好人

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

701 臺南市東區大學路1號 雲平大樓西棟7樓

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。