“Taiwan-Africa Smart Sustainable Agriculture and Marine & Aquaculture Forum” held in NCKU-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

“Taiwan-Africa Smart Sustainable Agriculture and Marine & Aquaculture Forum” held in NCKU

SDG2

“Taiwan-Africa Smart Sustainable Agriculture and Marine & Aquaculture Forum” held in NCKU

Synergy Correlation

Under the cooperation between National Cheng Kung University and National Taiwan Ocean University, the “Taiwan-Africa Smart Sustainable Agriculture and Marine & Aquaculture Forum” was held in NCKU Li-Hsing Campus from March 24th. Out of the purposes of the academic exchange and talents cultivation for Taiwan and Africa countries, the forum had both on-site and online meetings. Also, 6 Africa speakers were invited to discuss the development of sustainable agriculture and aquaculture.

In the two-day forum, the first-day topic was agriculture crop cultivation, and the second-day topic was aquaculture farming. The 10 representatives of alliance university, including National Chung Hsing University, National Ilan University, National Chiayi University and National Pingtung University of Science and Technology, were invited to have conversation with the scientists from South Africa, Nigeria and Soomaaliya, to discuss on the topics such as agricultural production bottlenecks of extreme climate, the intelligent management combining statistic analysis and AI control, microbial control strategy for provisions production, and the conversion of agriculture and aquaculture waste into sustainability.  There were almost 400 Taiwan and Africa participants, from the fields of intelligent agriculture science, aquaculture farming, marine resources management and biological technology, joined the forum in the only two days.

Charles Lin, the Vice President for International Affairs of NCKU, delivered a speech showing appreciation to the participants. He mentioned that in the context of  global climate change, Taiwan and Africa have a close bond expected to be deepened through this forum. Also, there are about 120 African students studying in NCKU per year. Professor Lin believed that biotechnology could bring new hopes to both the agriculture and aquaculture fields.

Ju-Ming Wang, the Dean of NCKU college of Bioscience and Biotechnology, showed special thanks to the distinguished guests from Africa and the representatives from alliance universities. The purpose of the forum was expected to start on the long term communication between the academia of Taiwan and Africa in various fields to share and grow together. Also, as the purpose of helping Africa talent cultivation, African students are encouraged to study in Taiwan.
 
“We are not only playing the roles of the scholars in the international society, but also hoping to give back to the international society.” Woei-Jiun Guo, the professor of NCKU department of biotechnology and bioindustry sciences, indicated that besides government efforts, NCKU also has the responsibility as an international citizen to extend our influence on improving Africa agriculture production limitation. “How to increase food production is an important issue focused on by the international society. The status quo of Africa academia and industry provided in this forum lets us think about the highly focused  cultivation strategy in stress, including high temperature and diseases. On the other hand, through the communication this time, we hope Taiwan agricultural research and development momentum could give new inspiration to African academia, and establish a brand-new  academic exchange connection between Taiwan and Africa.”

Speakers in the first day included Ying-Lan Chen, the associate professor of department of biotechnology and bioindustry sciences of NCKU, Zi-Bi Huang, the director of academy of circular economy of National Chung Hsing University, Tzean Yuh, the vice dean of office of international affairs of National Pingtung University of Science and Technology, Chen-Wei Liang, the assistant professor of the department of biomechatronic engineering of National Ilan University, Yung-Kai Lin, the professor of the institute of food safety and risk management of National Taiwan Ocean University. The issues the speakers discussed included the food demand under the trend of extreme climate, a further introduction of plant physiological mechanisms combined with intelligent agriculture (AI), statistical analysis, the  symbiotic relationship between bacteria, microorganism and plants, the application of peptide message adjustment, the research on soil diversity, and the possibility of achieving the sustainable agriculture goals by using plant extraction.

On the second day, the forum theme was “sustainable marine resource and aquaculture farming industry”. Speakers included Hong-Thih Lai, the Dean of the college of life sciences of National Chiayi University, Jenn-Kan Lu, the associate professor of the department of aquaculture of National Taiwan Ocean University, Chang-Wen Huang, the associate professor of the department of aquaculture of National Taiwan Ocean University, Yu-Hung Lin, the distinguished professor of the department of aquaculture of National Pingtung University of Science and Technology, and Han-Ching Wang, the distinguished professor of the department of biotechnology and bioindustry sciences of NCKU. The discussed issues, all related to the status quo and future sustainable development of aquaculture industry, included the automatic industrial the management based on massive data from advanced farming technology and algorithm, the aquaculture practice cases of  translation application, and the application of water resources, species diversity cultivation, feed additive for marine species, and so on.

Professor Woei-Jiun Guo indicated that she hoped this forum could be the accelerator of sustainable development in agriculture, aquaculture for both Taiwan and Africa, and could provide example cases to African countries for further development and talent cultivation. African students, encouraged to study in Taiwan, are expected to drive the upgrade of the agriculture and aquaculture industry after going back to Africa, and help NCKU expand the global influence in the international sustainable development knowledge platform.


Find More:

Lin, Charles C.H.

https://www.scopus.com/authid/detail.uri?authorId=57841472400

 

Wang, Ju-Ming

https://www.scopus.com/authid/detail.uri?authorId=8504026700

 

Guo, Woei-Jiun

https://www.scopus.com/authid/detail.uri?authorId=55259544000

 

Chen, Yinglan
https://www.scopus.com/authid/detail.uri?authorId=56044627800

 

Wang, Han-Ching

https://www.scopus.com/authid/detail.uri?authorId=7501741862

 

Lin, Shihming

https://www.scopus.com/authid/detail.uri?authorId=36544182400

The opening of "Taiwan-Africa Smart Sustainable Agriculture and Marine & Aquaculture Forum''. 

Charles Lin, the Vice President for International Affairs of NCKU, mentioned that in the context of  global climate change, Taiwan and Africa have a close bond expected to be deepened through this forum.

Ju-Ming Wang, the Dean of NCKU college of Bioscience and Biotechnology, indicated the forum was expected to start on the long term communication between the academia of Taiwan and Africa in various fields to share and grow together.

National Cheng Kung University and National Taiwan Ocean University cooperated to hold the “Taiwan-Africa Smart Sustainable Agriculture and Marine & Aquaculture Forum” in NCKU Li-Hsing Campus from March 24th to 25th.

There were almost 400 Taiwan and Africa participants, from the fields of intelligent agriculture science, aquaculture farming, marine resources management and biological technology, joined the forum.

NCKU’s Angel Fund Helps Students to Realize Their Entrepreneurial Dreams

SDG2NCKU’s Angel Fund Helps Students to Realize Their Entrepreneurial Dreams

View more
International Experts Gathered in GWAS Conference to Share the Trend of the Development of Crop Breeding Technology

SDG2International Experts Gathered in GWAS Conference to Share the Trend of the Development of Crop Breeding Technology

View more
The Course ”Social Innovation Practice of Stoyama” from NCKU Department of Chinese Literature Strives for Food Education

SDG2The Course ”Social Innovation Practice of Stoyama” from NCKU Department of Chinese Literature Strives for Food Education

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

No.1, University Road, Tainan City 701, Taiwan (R.O.C)

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。

國際交流不間斷 成大「台非智慧永續農業與海洋暨水產論壇」400 人共襄盛舉-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

國際交流不間斷 成大「台非智慧永續農業與海洋暨水產論壇」400 人共襄盛舉

SDG2

國際交流不間斷 成大「台非智慧永續農業與海洋暨水產論壇」400 人共襄盛舉

Synergy Correlation

文/綦守鈺  圖/成大生科與產業學系提供

國立成功大學與台灣海洋大學合作,3 月 24 起在成大力行校區生科大樓,舉辦為期兩天的「台非智慧永續農業與海洋暨水產論壇」,盼能促進台灣與非洲國家進行學術交流及菁英人才培育,論壇也以實體與即時線上連線的方式,與 6 位非洲講者,共同討論永續農漁業的發展。
 
兩天的論壇,分別聚焦農業作物栽培及海洋水產養殖,邀請中興大學、宜蘭大學、嘉義大學及屏東科技大學等 10 位聯盟學校代表,與來自南非,奈及利亞及索馬利蘭等科學家,針對極端氣候趨勢下的農業生產瓶頸,結合數據分析及 AI 控制擬定智慧管理,利用微生物防治策略提升糧食安全,及轉化農漁業廢棄物以達到環境永續等課題,進行對談。兩天內吸引台灣及非洲從事智慧農業科學、水產養殖和海洋資源相關的學研人士及生物科技業者近 400 人參與。

成大國際長林建宏致詞時,感謝論壇的參與者,提到全球氣候變遷下,台灣與非洲緊密相連,每年也約有 120 位非洲學生在成大就讀,生物科技為農漁業帶來新希望,透過這次論壇盼深化成大與非洲的鏈結。

成大生物科學與科技學院院長王育民,特別感謝非洲的貴賓及聯盟學校代表,期望透過這次論壇,啟動長期與非洲學界在研究及教學上的交流,未來也能拓展到不同學門面向,分享所學、共同成長,更盼能對非洲國家的人才培育有幫助,鼓勵更多非洲的學生來台學習。
 
「我們的角色不只是成為具備國際水準的學者,更希望能回饋給國際社會。」國立成功大學生物科技與產業科學系教授郭瑋君表示,如何改善非洲的農業生產限制,除政府機關的努力之外,成大也身具使命,希望能以國際公民的責任為出發,延伸影響力回饋國際友邦。「改善糧食生產產量是目前國際聚焦的重要議題,這次的論壇一方面讓我們了解非洲的學研及產業現況,思考對抗高溫和病害等逆境栽培策略以改善糧食生產產量為目前國際聚焦的重要面向,另一方面透由這次的交流,我們更希望台灣的農業研發動能讓非洲學界有新的啟發,建立我國目前欠缺的台非學術交流連結。」

第一天的講者為成大生科產業系副教授陳盈嵐,中興大學循環經濟研究學院主任黃姿碧教授、屏東科技大學副國際長曾昱、宜蘭大學生物機電工程學系助理教授梁辰瑋、海洋大學食品安全與風險管理研究所教授林詠凱,針對極端氣候趨勢下的糧食需求,與植物生理機制結合智慧農業(AI)、數據分析、細菌、微生物與植物共生關係做進一步的說明,並分享胜肽訊息調節應用和土壤多樣性研究,如何再利用植物萃取物達到永續農業目標等議題。
 
論壇第二天以「永續海洋資源及水產養殖業」為題,嘉義大學生科院院長賴弘智、海洋大學水產養殖系副教授陸振岡、海洋大學水產養殖系副教授黃章文、屏東科技大學水產養殖系林鈺鴻特聘教授、及成大生物科技與產業學系特聘教授王涵青、等人分享利用先進養殖技術、演算法得到大量資訊進行自動化產業管理,及轉譯應用於漁業中的實例,並透過水資源利用、物種多樣性生態栽培與魚蝦飼料添加劑的應用等領域,探討目前漁業現況與未來永續發展。

郭瑋君教授表示,希望透過這次論壇即時交流,未來能加速台灣與非洲在農業、海洋生物應用、養殖與漁業產業之永續發展。同時,也提供給非洲國家進一步發展的參考案例,並期望對非洲國家的人才培育有幫助,鼓勵更多非洲的學生來台學習,未來學成歸國後帶動非洲農漁產業升級,也希望能協助拓展成大全球永續發展知識平台的全球地位。 
 
 
維護單位: 新聞中心
更新日期: 2023-03-28

林建宏 Lin, Charles C.H.
https://www.scopus.com/authid/detail.uri?authorId=57841472400

王育民 Wang, Ju-Ming 
https://www.scopus.com/authid/detail.uri?authorId=8504026700
 
郭瑋君 Guo, Woei-Jiun 
https://www.scopus.com/authid/detail.uri?authorId=55259544000

陳盈嵐 Chen, Yinglan
https://www.scopus.com/authid/detail.uri?authorId=56044627800

王涵青 Wang, Han-Ching 
https://www.scopus.com/authid/detail.uri?authorId=7501741862

林士鳴 Lin, Shihming
https://www.scopus.com/authid/detail.uri?authorId=36544182400

「台非智慧永續農業與海洋暨水產論壇」登場,由左到右為海洋大學食品安全與風險管理研究所教授林詠凱、成功大學生物科技與產業學系助理教授林士鳴、陳盈嵐,中興大學植物保健學程主任-循環經濟研究學院主任黃姿碧、成功大學生物科學與科技學院院長王育民、成功大學國際長林建宏、成功大學生物科技與產業學系教授郭瑋君、屏東科技大學副國際長曾昱、嘉義大學生物機電工程學系助理教授梁辰瑋

成大國際長林建宏盼透過這次論壇深化成大與非洲的鏈結

成大生物科學與科技學院院長王育民盼能對非洲國家的人才培育有幫助

國立成功大學與台灣海洋大學合作,3 月 24 起在成大生科大樓,舉辦為期兩天的「台非智慧永續農業與海洋暨水產論壇」

論壇吸引台灣及非洲從事智慧農業科學、水產養殖和海洋資源相關的學研人士及生物科技業者近 400 人參與

全臺首創 成大研發「智慧魚苗生產系統」人力省 6 成

SDG2全臺首創 成大研發「智慧魚苗生產系統」人力省 6 成

NCKU Smarting Fish Farming System Helps Save 60% of Manpower

View more
響應友善農業 成大人社中心USR舉辦農民共學活動

SDG2響應友善農業 成大人社中心USR舉辦農民共學活動

Common Good of Farming and Husbandry, Symbiosis of Farming and Nature: NCKU Bears University Responsibility through Local Learning and Local Actions

View more
國際專家齊聚GWAS研討會 分享交流農作育種科技發展趨勢

SDG2國際專家齊聚GWAS研討會 分享交流農作育種科技發展趨勢

nternational Experts Gathered in GWAS Conference to Share the Trend of the Development of Crop Breeding Technology

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

701 臺南市東區大學路1號 雲平大樓西棟7樓

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。