NCKU and Harvard Collaborate and Use AI to Read and Predict Colorectal Cancer and is Featured in International Journal-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

NCKU and Harvard Collaborate and Use AI to Read and Predict Colorectal Cancer and is Featured in International Journal

SDG3

NCKU and Harvard Collaborate and Use AI to Read and Predict Colorectal Cancer and is Featured in International Journal

Synergy Correlation

The incidence of colorectal cancer in Taiwan is the highest in the world, and the mortality rate is the second highest among all cancers in Taiwan. In fact, early detection and treatment of colorectal cancer has a good cure rate. After more than 2 years of collaboration with the medical team of Harvard University, the team led by Prof. Jung-Hsien Chiang at NCKU has successfully developed an AI algorithm to detect and predict colorectal cancer, including prediction of key genetic aberrations, genetic expression, and survival, as well as identification of clear correlation with pathological sections. The research results were published in the international journal Nature Communications in April 2023.
Professor Chiang said that artificial intelligence to assist in medical treatment is one of the research phenomena today, but so far not many models have been able to build a complete AI interpretation and prediction for specific diseases. The model established by NCKU and Harvard is dominated by Westerners as the patient data. The team of NCKU has planned to conduct localized research with Taiwanese people and collaborated with domestic medical centers (e.g NCKU Hospital) to implement this colorectal cancer prediction system.
Professor Chiang pointed out that this cross-country study is expected to open up the vanguard of digital transformation of hospitals, and if it can be used in actual medical treatment, it will significantly improve the accuracy and speed of diagnosis by pathologists, and can effectively solve the problem of shortage of pathologists or not accumulating enough experience, as well as help physicians to design a more personalized medical plan for patients, and monitor the condition and progress during treatment to ensure the success rate of treatment.
In this cross-country study, the information required for the AI algorithm, such as pathological sections of colorectal cancer patients, genetic expression profiles, patient treatment and survival tracking, all came from the United States. Prof. Chiang revealed that one of the keys to AI algorithms is to have huge data, and the richness of the data in this collaboration can only be described as massive, spanning a timeline of 1 to 20 years and even 28 years of patient tracking data.
The information team at NCKU has contributed their "Golden Brain". There are 6 members in the team, besides Prof. Chiang, the other 5 are all his students. During the two to three years of research, the team members encountered many challenges, such as the need to supplement the lack of professional knowledge in cancer, the period of encountering bottlenecks in the design of algorithms, and even the blackout of computer calculation day and night. Fortunately, the team did not give up and persevered, and was able to obtain good results.
Professor Chiang said that he was a co-corresponding author of the research results in the journal Nature Communications, and the first five authors were all his students, which shows the power of research in the field of information technology at NCKU.


More Information
Chiang, Junghsien
https://www.scopus.com/authid/detail.uri?authorId=7201425280

Histopathology images predict multi-omics aberrations and prognoses in colorectal cancer patients
Tsai, P.-C., Lee, T.-H., Kuo, K.-C., ...Ogino, S., Yu, K.-H.
Nature Communications, 2023, 14(1), 2102

Prof. Jung-Hsien Chiang (center, first row) and the information team

Team of NCKU and Harvard having online meeting

Industry’s First Combination of Medicine and Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Furthering AI Education

SDG3Industry’s First Combination of Medicine and Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Furthering AI Education

View more
Contributing to Taiwan's Medical Device Industry: NCKU Becomes First University Licensed to Manufacture and Sell Medical Devices

SDG3Contributing to Taiwan's Medical Device Industry: NCKU Becomes First University Licensed to Manufacture and Sell Medical Devices

View more
NCKU Improves Mental Health Care Capacity by Increasing Daytime Counseling Spaces and Night Service Hours

SDG3NCKU Improves Mental Health Care Capacity by Increasing Daytime Counseling Spaces and Night Service Hours

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

No.1, University Road, Tainan City 701, Taiwan (R.O.C)

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。

成大與美國哈佛合作 AI判讀及預測大腸癌 躍登國際期刊-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

成大與美國哈佛合作 AI判讀及預測大腸癌 躍登國際期刊

SDG3

成大與美國哈佛合作 AI判讀及預測大腸癌 躍登國際期刊

Synergy Correlation

文/孟慶慈 圖/蔣榮先教授提供

台灣大腸癌發生率世界第一,死亡率居國內所有癌症第二位,其實大腸癌早發現早治療,治癒率佳。國立成功大學資訊所蔣榮先教授領導的團隊與美國哈佛大學醫療團隊經過 2 年多的合作與努力,成功地以 AI 演算法建立判讀大腸癌及預測模型,包括預測患者關鍵遺傳畸變、基因表現、存活期,還可找出與病理切片明確的關聯性。研究成果 2023 年 4 月躍登國際期刊自然通訊《Nature Communications》。
 
蔣榮先教授表示,人工智慧協助醫療是當今研究顯學之一,但迄今能就特定疾病建立出完整的 A I 判讀及預測的模型尚不多。成大與哈佛建立的模型,由於患者資料以西方人為主。經由成大團隊規劃以國人進行本土化研究,與國內醫學中心(例如成大醫院)合作,實測這套大腸癌預測系統。
 
蔣榮先指出,這次的跨國研究,可望開啟醫院數位轉型先鋒,若能實際用於醫療,將可大幅提高病理醫師診斷的精確度及速度,並可有效解決病理醫師短缺或未累積足夠經驗等問題,也能幫助醫師設計更符合病患個人的醫療方案,並在治療過程中監測病情和進展,以確保治療成功率。

此一跨國研究,有關 AI 演算所需的大腸癌患者病理切片、基因表現圖譜、病人治療與存活追蹤等相關資料都來自於美國。蔣榮先教授透露,AI 演算要有成果,關鍵之一就是要有龐大的數據資料,這次合作的資料豐富程度只能以海量來形容,橫跨的時間軸多達 1、20 年,甚至有  28  年的病患追蹤資料。
 
成大資訊團隊方面則是貢獻了「金頭腦」,團隊共有 6 名成員,蔣榮先教授外,另 5 位皆是他指導的學生。在兩、三年的研究過程中,成員們遇到不少挑戰,必須補充癌症專業知識的不足,也有演算法設計上遇到撞牆期,甚至日以繼夜的電腦計算竟然遇到大停電等,所幸團隊都不放棄地堅持走下去,也不負期待地獲得了甜美的果實。
 
蔣榮先教授表示,此次研究成果登上《Nature Communications》期刊,自己是共同通訊作者,另外前 5 名作者都是他所指導的學生,成大在資訊領域的研究能量由此可見一斑。
 
維護單位: 新聞中心
更新日期: 2023-04-21

更多資訊
蔣榮先 https://www.scopus.com/authid/detail.uri?authorId=7201425280
Histopathology images predict multi-omics aberrations and prognoses in colorectal cancer patients
Tsai, P.-C., Lee, T.-H., Kuo, K.-C., ...Ogino, S., Yu, K.-H. Nature Communications, 2023, 14(1), 2102

蔣榮先教授(第一排中間)與資訊團隊

成大資訊團隊與哈佛團隊線上會議討論

成大、高醫、長庚大學與日本機構合作研發「放電菌膜奈米複合粒子行放射動力療法」 成果刊登國際期刊

SDG3成大、高醫、長庚大學與日本機構合作研發「放電菌膜奈米複合粒子行放射動力療法」 成果刊登國際期刊

View more
【老年學所長論壇】最好的治療是預防 劉秀枝醫師談失智症與銀髮族照護

SDG3【老年學所長論壇】最好的治療是預防 劉秀枝醫師談失智症與銀髮族照護

View more
成大科技部人工智慧生技醫療創新研究中心成立,為跨領域人才與社區服務

SDG3成大科技部人工智慧生技醫療創新研究中心成立,為跨領域人才與社區服務

NCKU’s Angel Fund Helps Students to Realize Their Entrepreneurial Dreams

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

701 臺南市東區大學路1號 雲平大樓西棟7樓

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。