International Experts Gathered in GWAS Conference to Share the Trend of the Development of Crop Breeding Technology-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

International Experts Gathered in GWAS Conference to Share the Trend of the Development of Crop Breeding Technology

SDG2

International Experts Gathered in GWAS Conference to Share the Trend of the Development of Crop Breeding Technology

Synergy Correlation

International Experts Gathered in GWAS Conference to Share the Trend of the Development of Crop Breeding Technology

With the impacts of trade globalization and frequent extreme climate changes, breeding has been a vital issue in Taiwan. To elevate ability to breed cash crops, the Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST) Research Promotion Center of Life Sciences (MSTRPC) held “2019 GWAS and pedigree mapping - Unveil useful genes from natural germplasm for crop breeding” at National Cheng Kung University (NCKU) in April 26th. Experts from the USA, France, Australia, Japan, and other countries gathered to introduce the trend of the development of the latest technology, share the concept of the design of their experiments, and the strategy for overcoming obstacles during the research.

The conference took place in the auditorium located on the 3rd floor of NCKU Life Sciences building, and over 100 scholars from home and abroad attended. Fong-Chin Su, the vice president of NCKU, indicated that climate change is a huge challenge for human sustainability. The development and research of GWAS have provided clues for gene mining and crop breeding. In addition, prof. Su mentioned that the conference is an important platform for international communication; therefore, he expects NCLU can have more international communication and cooperation related to research in the future. The “GWAS workshop” was arranged one day prior to the conference, which enables the students and the researchers from agriculture research units to get familiar with the operation of GWAS.

Yann-rong Lin, a professor from National Taiwan University (NTU), and Hong-hua Chen, a professor from NCKU urge the MOST and Council of Agriculture to support plans regarding GWAS. Prof. Lin indicated that climate change threatens food security; even though the majority of crops have been revised to have better flavor and taste, some original genes have vanished. Therefore, GWAS needs to be applied to prospect genes, discover those which have disappeared, accelerate the process of nurturing new cultivars, and ensure food security.

During the conference, the scholars introduced how to use the GWAS, and discovered the controlling gene for the experience of nurturing new strains and designed for the experiments from the vital cash crops and model organisms like Arabidopsis thaliana.

Matsuoka Makoto, a professor from Nagoya University, and who has been researching the growth regulation of paddy rice, introduced the way he successfully and speedily discovered the controlling genes of paddy rice which result in delayed flowering and other influences through techniques including GWAS, which enables the researchers to nurture new strains. Dr. Michael Dingkuhn from France shared how he used GWAS to rapidly locate the gene which controls the adaptation to the change of environment in the gene library of paddy rice.

Among ecological botany research, Arabidopsis thaliana is the most used experiment subject. Paul E. Verslus, the researcher from Institute of Plant and Microbial Biology (IPMB) of Academia Sinica, introduced that he analyzed Arabidopsis thaliana with GWAS, uncovered its natural heritable variation in the reaction to drought, separated the gene regarding the drought resistance of plants afterward, and verified the gene through the experiments in plants.

International Experts Gathered in GWAS Conference to Share the Trend of the Development of Crop Breeding Technology

The newest technology trends are presented in GWAS Conference

The Course ”Social Innovation Practice of Stoyama” from NCKU Department of Chinese Literature Strives for Food Education

SDG2The Course ”Social Innovation Practice of Stoyama” from NCKU Department of Chinese Literature Strives for Food Education

View more
“Taiwan-Africa Smart Sustainable Agriculture and Marine & Aquaculture Forum” held in NCKU

SDG2“Taiwan-Africa Smart Sustainable Agriculture and Marine & Aquaculture Forum” held in NCKU

View more
NCKU Smarting Fish Farming System Helps Save 60% of Manpower

SDG2NCKU Smarting Fish Farming System Helps Save 60% of Manpower

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

No.1, University Road, Tainan City 701, Taiwan (R.O.C)

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。

國際專家齊聚GWAS研討會 分享交流農作育種科技發展趨勢-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

國際專家齊聚GWAS研討會 分享交流農作育種科技發展趨勢

SDG2

國際專家齊聚GWAS研討會 分享交流農作育種科技發展趨勢

nternational Experts Gathered in GWAS Conference to Share the Trend of the Development of Crop Breeding Technology

Synergy Correlation

台灣農業受全球化貿易衝擊,加上極端氣候日趨頻繁,育種成為重要課題。科技部生命科學推動中心為提升國內經濟作物育種能力,4月26日在成大舉辦「2019全基因體關聯性分析及譜系圖譜分析(GWAS)─以自然種原探勘有用基因應用於作物育種研討會」,美國、法國、澳洲、日本等國際學者與台灣專家齊聚,會中介紹最新技術發展趨勢,也分享實驗設計概念、克服研究瓶頸的策略等。

研討會於成大生命科學大樓3樓大講堂舉行,國內外學者百餘人與會。成大副校長蘇芳慶指出,氣候變遷對人類永續發展是一大挑戰,近年來GWAS的研究與發展,對基因探勘、作物育種提供了許多線索,研討會是國際交流重要平台,期盼未來成大與國際間有更多研究交流與合作。科技部生命科學推動中心主任林納生、台大農藝學系主任林彥蓉教授、成大生命科學系教授陳虹樺等都特地出席,中研院、中興大學、嘉義大學、東海大學、農委會等均派代表與會。研討會前一天,大會精心安排「全基因體關聯性分析GWAS工作坊」,讓學子及農業試驗單位研究人員,熟悉GWAS分析之操作。

台大林彥蓉教授、成大陳虹樺教授呼籲科技部與農委會支持GWAS相關計畫。林彥蓉表示,氣候變遷,威脅糧食安全,現在的經濟作物,幾乎都經過不斷改良,雖然口感、風味都提高很多,但一些原有的基因可能已流失。應該要善用GWAS技術,從自然種源中探勘基因,找回流失的基因,加速培育新品種,以確保糧食安全。

研討會中學者介紹如何利用GWAS技術,在水稻、香蕉、蝴蝶蘭、青花菜等重要經濟作物及模式植物阿拉伯芥,找出相關控制基因以培育新品系的經驗與實驗設計。

研究水稻生長調節的國際知名學者日本名古屋大學松岡信教授,為與會者說明,他如何成功的以GWAS等技術,快速找到包括延遲開花等多個水稻控制基因,可以用來培育新品系。來自法國的Michael Dingkuhn博士分享藉由GWAS技術,快速在水稻基因庫中找尋到控制適應環境變化的基因。

在植物研究中,最常以小型開花植物阿拉伯芥為實驗對象,中央研究院植物暨微生物學研究所研究員韋保羅(Paul E. Verslus)介紹以GWAS技術分析阿拉伯芥,發現其在乾旱反應中表現出天然的遺傳變異,從而分離出與調節植物抗旱能力相關的基因,並透過實驗在植物體內驗證。

(撰文、攝影/孟慶慈)

國際專家齊聚GWAS研討會 分享交流農作育種科技發展趨勢

GWAS研討會中介紹最新技術發展趨勢

成大天使金啟蒙學生創業,多元創業計畫獲得助益

SDG2成大天使金啟蒙學生創業,多元創業計畫獲得助益

NCKU’s Angel Fund Helps Students to Realize Their Entrepreneurial Dreams

View more
全臺首創 成大研發「智慧魚苗生產系統」人力省 6 成

SDG2全臺首創 成大研發「智慧魚苗生產系統」人力省 6 成

NCKU Smarting Fish Farming System Helps Save 60% of Manpower

View more
國際交流不間斷 成大「台非智慧永續農業與海洋暨水產論壇」400 人共襄盛舉

SDG2國際交流不間斷 成大「台非智慧永續農業與海洋暨水產論壇」400 人共襄盛舉

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

701 臺南市東區大學路1號 雲平大樓西棟7樓

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。