The Course ”Social Innovation Practice of Stoyama” from NCKU Department of Chinese Literature Strives for Food Education-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

The Course ”Social Innovation Practice of Stoyama” from NCKU Department of Chinese Literature Strives for Food Education

SDG2

The Course ”Social Innovation Practice of Stoyama” from NCKU Department of Chinese Literature Strives for Food Education

Synergy Correlation

【”On the Mountain and by the Sea-program and Practice” Steps Into Elementary School and Promotes Food Education】

“On the Mountain and by the Sea-program and Practice” is the general course which has been offered by the director of National Cheng Kung University (NCKU) Department of Chinese Literature (CL), Chao-Cheng Lin, since 2015. The initial purpose of the course is to concern the drainage basin of Zeng Wenxi river, and to follow the Satoyama Initiative. The Satoyama Initiative is a global effort to realize "societies in harmony with nature" through landscape approaches to biodiversity conservation and human well-being. The establishment of the course also expects to reach the development model of balance between lives, production, and nature through promoting environmentally friendly.

After the curriculum, Mr. Lin recognized that it is more difficult to develop residents’ awareness to participate in river protection. Therefore, the course turns to promote sustainable agriculture at the towns nearby the river. It is fully aware that the usage of pesticide and synthetic fertilizers during the process of production in agriculture pollutes the river; however, there is no stringent verification. The course expects to care about nature in the aspect of industry, and the main goal is to step into satoyama, find the problems, think of the solutions, and practice for the Zeng Wenxi river, and achieve the vision through sustainable agriculture. The course consists of two topics, food education and industrial restructure, and students are divided into two groups, food education and industry teams.

The curriculum design of food education in the beginning is to connect the consumers and place of origin. Thus, Mr. Lin arranged the “Trip to the place of food origin” with the aim of influencing adults to be aware of the importance of sustainable agriculture through children; afterwards, the main goal of the course became enabling children to understand nature and what they eat, and encouraging them to DIY with five senses. Jia-rong Lee, the course manager mentioned that children are able to keep the skill once they experience themselves even though it seems that the content of the DIY is too simple to be taught, it is the most effective teaching method in this phase. The content of food education includes butterfly pea experiment, plate with six categories of nutrients, usage of cookers, peeling off sweet potatoes and water caltrop, etc. Besides, elementary school students can observe the vegetables and fruits, and taste the flavor after the ingredients are cooked.

The industrial transformation expects that the farmers can start to reduce the usage of pesticide, and cultivate in eco-friendly ways. Therefore, the course cooperates with the farmers in Yujing District. Nevertheless, it is hard to conduct industrial transformation for the Irwin mango which Yujing is celebrated for. Since plant disease will be severe without pesticide, the harvest will be pessimistic for 3 years if the transformation is conducted. As a result, the team invited the former project manager of Earth Friend in Guantian District to be the advisor. The team committed to promote the strap-shaped transformation for sustainable agriculture, and enable students to conduct field research in the district, and help discover marketing programs.

【The Course “Social Innovation Practice of Stoyama” from NCKU Department of Chinese Literature Onwards to Yujung】 Is it possible to block the fruit flies from mangoes with high economic value, and create a three-win situation for producers, consumers, and nature? The Course “Social Innovation Practice of Stoyama” held by Chao-Cheng Lin, the professor from NCKU CL, led 12 students from various departments to Yujing, and planted 11 cultivars of mangoes. They planned to turn Irwin Mango into an environmentally friendly cultivar (Da-Shu Mango), grow healthy mango trees instead of bagging and pesticide, and build a “Formosan sambar mango” brand.

The course invited teachers from various professional fields to teach students' hands-on practices. Prof. Lin indicated that the course has recognized that it requires 20 times of pesticide spraying to achieve the Yujing mangoes with perfect shapes, which damages the environment, producers, and consumers severely, and even owns potential to pollute the upstream of Zenf Wenxi river, from conducting field research in Yujing since they concerned the drainage basin of Zeng Wenxi river. From ideating, practicing, and contacting the Zhuwei Community located in Yujing District to ensure their willingness of providing experimental fields, 12 students from NCKU planted 12 mango trees with 11 cultivars on March 15th, 2020.

Mango is an important product in Yujing, Jian-Xiong Huang and Chun-Min Chen, the lecturers of the course, mentioned that if the experiment proves that Da-Shu Mango is able to solve the hazard from fruit flies efficiently, the usage of pesticide and baggings can be dramatically decreased, and can therefore reduce expenses for hiring works; thus, more farmers may be convinced to plant Da-Shu mangoes.

Jian-Xiong Huang and Chun-Min Chen have assisted NCKU in the establishment of ecological education park “Mango Green Land” in Dong-Ning Campus. Mango trees, which are Da-Shu Mangoes, in Mango Green Land are not artificially dwarfed, and the fruitful trees are without the damage from fruit flies. Mr. Huang analyzed that there are two reasons for the result: first, the healthy habitat enables the mangoes to grow thick pericarp and Tannins, and thus the fruit flies can not easily harm the fruits. Second, the location of fruits is too high for the flies to reach.

Trees in the city are commonly planted with baum pots; however, trees are not able to stick roots with such a narrow space. As a result, trees dump easily during typhoon days. Even though Mango Green Land is located in the city center, Mr. Huang indicated that by “deep dig, shallow plant, in-hillock growth”, the healthy radial roots grow, which are able to resist natural disasters and pests. A healthy mango can produce fruits with nice flavor.

Hai-Long Xu, the president of Zhuwei Community in Yujing District of Tainan and the owner of Tai-Lu Farm, pastures the Formosan sambars, and uses the defecation of the sambers as the organic fertilizer for the mango farm, which is a model of circular agriculture. Mr, Xu mentioned that he built the “Formosan sambar mago”, which is environmental friendly, with NCKU general course; besides, he expects to create the new cuisine “mango chicken soup” with Taijiang area, present the unique Taiwanese catering culture, and promote mango industry.  

Social Innovation Practice of Stoyama.

Steps Into Elementary School and Promotes Food Education.

Students feed sambar in the ranch .

The thick mango peel is not easy to be bitten by mosquitoes.

NCKU Smarting Fish Farming System Helps Save 60% of Manpower

SDG2NCKU Smarting Fish Farming System Helps Save 60% of Manpower

View more
NCKU Holds Farmers' Collective Learning Activity to Respond to Eco-friendly Agriculture

SDG2NCKU Holds Farmers' Collective Learning Activity to Respond to Eco-friendly Agriculture

View more
NCKU’s Angel Fund Helps Students to Realize Their Entrepreneurial Dreams

SDG2NCKU’s Angel Fund Helps Students to Realize Their Entrepreneurial Dreams

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

No.1, University Road, Tainan City 701, Taiwan (R.O.C)

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。

為食農教育一生懸命: 成大中文系「山里海社會創新實踐」-國立成功大學永續發展SDGs

為食農教育一生懸命: 成大中文系「山里海社會創新實踐」

SDG2

為食農教育一生懸命: 成大中文系「山里海社會創新實踐」

The Course ”Social Innovation Practice of Stoyama” from NCKU Department of Chinese Literature Strives for Food Education

Synergy Correlation

【里山里海的方案規畫與實踐 走入國小教食農】
「里山里海的方案規畫與實踐」由成大中文系主任林朝成104年開課至今,最初創立宗旨是為了配合教育部的雲嘉南區域教學計畫關心曾文溪流域,以對於曾文溪流域的想像參考了日本的里山倡議,里山倡議的目的在於將保護區與農林漁業等區域特性產業的生產土地連結在一起,並強調永續利用這片土地以保存生物多樣性,而這門課的設立也希望藉由推廣友善環境達到生活、生產、生態平衡的發展模式。

真正搭配課程操作後,發現針對河川讓民眾有意識的參與比較困難,所以後來選擇在河川附近的鄉鎮推廣友善農業,農業在生產過程中使用農藥或化肥無形中都會污染河川,但缺乏嚴謹驗證,這門課也想從產業的角度來關心生態,最大目標為發展曾文溪流域的里山倡議願景,也藉由友善農業達到這個願景,於是將課程分為兩個主題,一部分為食農教育,另一部份為產業轉型,學生也分成食農組和產業組。

食農教育在最初課程設計中是想連結產地消費者端,所以辦了產地旅行,並且在國小中辦市集,希望藉由小朋友影響大人友善農業的重要性,後來則將重心放在讓小孩了解生態和他們吃到的食物,並且加入五感,讓小朋友用動手做來體驗。課程經理人李佳蓉表示:「其實小朋友只要動手做過一次,這個技能就會跟著他們一輩子,或許有些人覺得這些看起來很簡單、很不值得教,但這是小朋友現階段最需要,也最有效果的教學。」例如蝶豆花實驗、畫六大營養素餐盤、操作廚房簡單的工具、刨地瓜、剝菱角,皆成為食農教學的內容,除此之外,也讓小學生觀察蔬菜水果,並且在觀察後烹飪食材一起品嘗。

在產地,農作物大部分都是噴農藥或是用化肥,而產業轉型也是希望可以從農藥減量開始,用友善環境的耕種方式。而課堂中的產業轉型則是緊扣一開始想要達成的方向,於是和農友合作,走入玉井。但沒想玉井盛產的愛文芒果在執行產業轉型上很困難,由於病蟲害非常嚴重,若是轉型3年內都不會有太好的收成,後來找了官田友善大地過去的專案經理前來指導,之後希望以帶狀的方式,每學期接力推動友善農業的轉型,讓學生也在當地進行田野調查、幫忙思考行銷方案。

【成大中文系「山里海社會創新實踐」課程前進玉井】
香甜可口頗具經濟價值的芒果有無可能以自然方式杜絕果實蠅侵擾,創造生產者、消費者與生態環境三者共贏?成大中文系教授林朝成開設「山里海社會創新實踐」課程帶領成大12位不同科系同學,前往台南玉井親手種下11種芒果品種,規劃將「愛文」種成「大樹芒果」,希望種出健康芒果樹取代套袋、噴灑農藥,打造環境友善的「水鹿芒果」品牌。

「山里海社會創新實踐」結合跨領域業師指導學生實作,林朝成表示,過去課程因關心曾文溪流域走入玉井田野調查,發現若要種出完美外形的玉井芒果,至少要噴灑20次農藥,對於生態環境、生產者、消費者都是一大傷害,更有汙染曾文溪上游的潛在可能。透過幾個學期由學生發想、實作,接洽到台南玉井竹圍社區做為友善芒果實驗場域,15日由成大12位同學親手種下12棵芒果樹,11種品種包含蘋果文、黑香、海頓、蜜煌、西施、愛文、蜜雪、紅蘭等。

芒果是台南玉井重要產物,課程業師黃建雄、陳純敏表示,透過本次課程實驗若能證明「大樹芒果」可有效解決果實蠅危害,可大幅減少農藥噴灑,也無須為芒果套袋,減少請工人的支出,更能說服更多農友加入種植大樹芒果的行列。

黃建雄與陳純敏2019年協助建置成大東寧校區「芒果綠美地」生態教育園區。「芒果綠美地」的芒果樹沒有經過人為矮化,每棵都是「大樹芒果」,結實累累且幾乎沒有受到果實蠅叮咬,黃建雄分析可能原因一為棲地環境健康,果皮厚單寧豐富,果實蠅不易叮入;二是果實位置高,受風較大,果實蠅無法順利接近。

都市裡的樹木大多以「樹穴」進行種植,樹木沒有良好的空間進行紮根,當遇到颱風時,便容易傾倒。「芒果綠美地」雖位處台南市區精華地段,但大樹芒果種植則採用先人植樹智慧,黃建雄說以「深挖、淺種、丘植」方式種植,植物長成放射狀健康根系可有效抵禦各種天災逆境及病蟲害,芒果樹如若健康,自然就會產出風味佳的果實。

台南玉井竹圍社區理事長許海龍,同時也是台鹿牧場經營者,以自然健康的放牧方式養殖水鹿,不關籠、餵食牧草,並且將水鹿排遺作為芒果園的肥料,是循環農業的良好示範。許海龍表示,本次與成大課程合作打造友善環境的「水鹿芒果」品牌,也很期待能結合台江地區創新研發料理「鹹芒果雞湯」,重現台灣特有飲食文化,推廣芒果產業。

校刊採訪報導 : https://zengwenriver.wixsite.com/satoyamaeducation/%E6%88%90%E5%A4%A7%E6%A0%A1%E5%88%8A
 

里山里海的方案規畫與實踐 走入國小教食農

里山里海的方案規畫與實踐 走入國小教食農

成大學生到玉井台鹿牧場體驗餵食水鹿

成大「芒果綠美地」的大樹芒果幾乎沒有被叮咬

成大協助市府推動智慧農業 首用無人機防治荔枝椿象

SDG2成大協助市府推動智慧農業 首用無人機防治荔枝椿象

NCKU Assists the Government who Firstly Adopted UAVs to treat Tessaratoma papillosa Drury, in Promoting Intelligent Agriculture

View more
國際交流不間斷 成大「台非智慧永續農業與海洋暨水產論壇」400 人共襄盛舉

SDG2國際交流不間斷 成大「台非智慧永續農業與海洋暨水產論壇」400 人共襄盛舉

View more
成大天使金啟蒙學生創業,多元創業計畫獲得助益

SDG2成大天使金啟蒙學生創業,多元創業計畫獲得助益

NCKU’s Angel Fund Helps Students to Realize Their Entrepreneurial Dreams

View more

NCKU SDGs

永續發展目標

701 臺南市東區大學路1號 雲平大樓西棟7樓

2022© Copyright All Rights Reserved

國立成功大學SDGs離岸團隊擁有全球風能維護團隊5年的全球風控中心,並擁有5年的第一套商業套化輪播式光達設備;除建立捲簾式的移動監控技術,與ECN展示現歐洲海事外展能力。建築複合功能設計團隊與建築外置經驗塔在介紹節能建築的同時,驗證建站技術也在技術中心及平台上進行技術測試,分享階段平台成果試驗成果未來生結合應用的架構,以作為開發系統的架構。